Persian Kabob Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
Fantastic recipe! I added a few extras for my version; fresh mint instead of dried, a dash of lemon juice, pinch of coarse pepper, kosher salt, and a tablespoon of curry. Skewered with red onion, zucchini and summer squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
It seems there are as many ways to cook this as there are cooks! I, too, added a little garlic and some sumac. Because mint is in the garden right now I used that. Guess I should dry some mint because we really liked this recipe and I will be making it again. It was the first time I marinated meat in yogurt. It was very good but the yogurt made it more difficult to determine when the meat was cooked as I usually use herbs and olive oil which browns up quickly. Thanks for the recipe. I served it with basmati rice with Persian seasoning, tzatziki and pita. Next time I will take your advice and grill some vegetables to round out the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alvor

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BaysChick
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2004
This is my family's all-time favorite thing for dinner! The yogurt tenderizes the meat. **The longer this marinates, even up to 48 hours, the better it will taste. Note to other reviews: For best results you need to use fresh meat and the better the cut, the better the kabob. It is supposed to be messy when you skewer the meat, I goop what remains in the bowl on the meat before grilling. The onion needs to be in tiny pieces for the best flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
well... the way we make kabobs is more flavorful. just yogurt and mint won't help. it is important to add a lot of different types of spices. cayenne pepper.. garlic, ginger, salt, pepper, (sometimes) turmeric, and other spices of your choice. trust me, it will taste better with more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetfanatic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2004
O.k. marinade...I marinaded for 6 hours maybe that was the problem, there didn't seem to be a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I gave this 4 out of 5 stars simply because I wasn't sure what to do after marinating the meat - do I grill it with the yogurt dripping off, do I wipe off the yogurt, do I rinse off the yogurt? I was unsure and rinsed off the yogurt. The meat was very tender, and there was a slight tang to it from the yogurt. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2006
The yogurt made the beef so tender and the favor was tasty. I thought it was easy to prepare and fast to cook. I added tomatos, onions and mushrooms with the meat on the skewers. I served with rice. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
Superb in flavor. The longer it is marinated the better! A super tender succulent kabob.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2004
This turned out terrific. The meat was tender and juicy and just perfect. Thank you for a wonderful recipe. We will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
These were so good. My husband and I love persian kabobs and this was my first attempt at home. Will make many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Hawaiian Chicken Kabob Dinner

This 600-calorie meal is full of tropical and Asian-infused delights.

Kofta Kebabs

Ground lamb is marinated in fragrant spices and grilled on skewers.

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States