Persian Fesenjun Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
This dish is fit for a Sultan,or the King of your house. Very easy to prepare. I served it over basmati rice. My husband is from the middle east & he said it was as good as any he has ever had!We found the Pomegranate syrup at the middle eastern store-it was called pomegranate molassas. Don't be put off by it's sweet appearance-this dish is a sweet & sour masterpiece,in looks as well as taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
This has been one of my favorites for many years but I make it a little bit differently. First, I use about half of the walnuts. After cooking the chicken breasts, I cut them into smaller pieces and instead of simmering the entire mixture in a skillet for 20 minutes, I bring the onion, ground walnuts, chicken, pomegranate paste and a cup or two of water (until it looks soupy) to a boil in a saucepan and add a bit of sugar and turmeric. I then cover and simmer for almost 2 hours. It's ready when the mixture has thickened. This has to be served on top of plain white rice - basmati is the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2004
this didn't come out as well as when others have made it, but the taste was there. I think I needed to ground the walnuts finer. I'll try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2004
I made this for my wife for Valentine's Day this past February. I was a little hesitant at first because, although I love pomegranates, my wife was only indifferent to pomegranates. We both abosolutely LOVED the flavor of this dish. We had some left and give it to my mother-in-law. She loved it too. I spent three and a half years living in Iran in during the 1970s when my father was stationed there while in the U.S. Air Force. I never ran across the dish, but when I saw it, I just had to make it. My wife is wondering when I will make it again. If you can get or make some barbary bread to go with it and serve it over white rice you will have a close to authentic Persian dining experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Okay, I must have done something wrong, because this was bad! I have an adventurous palate, but this dish was too intense or bitter. We used Pomegranate Juice- concentrated (10 ounce bottle) that we got at our favorite middle eastern market (that's all they had and they had a lot of it), so we figured this must be it. But, again, just so bad. Please advise. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
Pretty good. It has a very unique taste. (I'm a big fan of trying lots of cuisines but I've never had anything like this.) I used pomegranate concentrate because that's the only thing I could find, and only 7 ounces because I figured it was stronger than syrup and wanted to be safe. Served next to basmati rice, upon which the extra sauce and walnuts were piled. That worked out quite well. I was wavering between three and four stars and decided on four because everyone should make this at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I was really excited to find this recipe as I love Middle Eastern food, but when I made this it was terrible. I had guests over and wanted to make them something special, but it was a disaster. However, I do have to admit that I didn't have as much walnuts as was called for, but the pomegranate paste was just so overpowering I can't imagine that it would have mattered that much. The dish was so tart, that you couldn't really taste anything else. Anyhow, I won't be trying this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPENABAUER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gonzales, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This is a great recipe...easy...but I always add sugar to the sauce so it cuts the tartness and the flavor becomes sweet and sour. Some may like more sugar, others less, depends on your taste buds. i chop the walnuts until they are super fine. i love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I am Persian, and while I was recently talking to my mother about recipes, I let her know this one came through my e-mail. When I let her know, she was just dying to know how to make it! She knows all the recipes such as Ghorme Sabzi and Gheime Badenjoon but she didn't know how to make this. Anyhow, there is too much pomegrante sauce in the recipe. She tells me it is only supposed to be one or two tablespoons. That might be why some are complaining about their food tasting funny. I just thought I would share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I liked this concept but made a few adjustments right away. Unfortunately, I couldn't find pomegranite syrup, but I did get pure pomegranite juice, reduce it by 1/2 volume and add 1 T. sugar. I also used boneless skinless thighs because we prefer the dark meat. I liked the taste of this and serve it with both pearl barley and again with Jasmine rice. Unfortunately, cooking destroys the color of the pomegranite juice and the appearance is less appealing than I would like. I did sprinkle the dish once with Aleppo pepper to add a little kick. I will probably make again if I can find real syrup and take the other reviewer's advice to use less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States