Persian Fesenjun Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I love Fessen Jan! I gave it four stars because it an be perfect with a couple tweaks: I add about 1 tsp. of turmeric to the onion while it is frying. I also use (1) 16 oz. bag of walnut pieces, which renders more than 1 cup. I pound my walnuts with a hammer to make them as fine as possible (and I don't have a food processor so I really do not have a choice!). I use 2 small game hens if they are on sale; if not, I use 1 lb. of chicken pieces with the skin on. I boil the meat, take it out when finished, and use that chicken stock as my liquid base for the Fessen Jan. If it needs more liquid, I just add chicken broth, never water. Then, into the liquid base I add: the onion/turmeric mixture, the finely ground walnuts, about ½ c. sugar, and the bottle of concentrated pomegranate paste/juice. I do not use the full 10 oz bottle, maybe about ¾ of the 10 oz. bottle. I bring it to a boil, reduce heat to about a 3 or 4 on the stove, and let it simmer for about 2 hours. When finished, add the chicken or game hens. Here are the secrets to the best Fessen Jan: 1. Make sure the walnuts are ground so fine that when you handle it, the mass of ground-up walnuts is almost like play-doh; 2. According to some of the best Iranian cooks I know, the darker the sauce, the better. This is accomplished by using almost all of10 oz bottle of concentrated pomegranate juice/paste. My father, who is Iranian (and a darn good cook, I might add!) told me that back in the day when he was growin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shireen95
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
this recipe is good, but i would like to give you some suggestions:1. this dish is lackingsugar, this dish is usually served sweet and sour 2. you can also use meatball instead of chicken 3.once i made this dish for a vegeterian friend of mine, i went to the vegeterian section of supermarket and found vegeterian Swedish style meatballs and used instead of chicken, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
I am Iranian,and I find this recipe missing sugar. There are different versions of this dish in Iran; at North people make it tart, in Tehran it's more sweet and in west they make it sour and sweet. I personally like the latter. For having that fabulous sour & sweet taste you need less pomegranade paste and some sugar (usually 2-3 spoon sugar for 5-6 spoon paste for 2 lb chicken) Though it depends on your taste. Anyhow I thought you might find it work better for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
I doubled the recipe for guests, but used the same amount of pomegranate juice as for the single recipe. I used water and vegeta seasoning (as I'd run out of stock) for the remainder of the liquid. It turned out GREAT. I was slightly concerned no-one would try it out, since it has an unusual appearance if you're not used to cooking with ground nuts, but I guess my friends are used to my wild culinary experiments, and they went for it. It was the most favoured part of the meal, together with the Syrian beans I made from AllRecipes. They loved it, and I did too... And it's so amazingly easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2006
I liked this concept but made a few adjustments right away. Unfortunately, I couldn't find pomegranite syrup, but I did get pure pomegranite juice, reduce it by 1/2 volume and add 1 T. sugar. I also used boneless skinless thighs because we prefer the dark meat. I liked the taste of this and serve it with both pearl barley and again with Jasmine rice. Unfortunately, cooking destroys the color of the pomegranite juice and the appearance is less appealing than I would like. I did sprinkle the dish once with Aleppo pepper to add a little kick. I will probably make again if I can find real syrup and take the other reviewer's advice to use less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
I am Persian, and while I was recently talking to my mother about recipes, I let her know this one came through my e-mail. When I let her know, she was just dying to know how to make it! She knows all the recipes such as Ghorme Sabzi and Gheime Badenjoon but she didn't know how to make this. Anyhow, there is too much pomegrante sauce in the recipe. She tells me it is only supposed to be one or two tablespoons. That might be why some are complaining about their food tasting funny. I just thought I would share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
This is a great recipe...easy...but I always add sugar to the sauce so it cuts the tartness and the flavor becomes sweet and sour. Some may like more sugar, others less, depends on your taste buds. i chop the walnuts until they are super fine. i love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
I was really excited to find this recipe as I love Middle Eastern food, but when I made this it was terrible. I had guests over and wanted to make them something special, but it was a disaster. However, I do have to admit that I didn't have as much walnuts as was called for, but the pomegranate paste was just so overpowering I can't imagine that it would have mattered that much. The dish was so tart, that you couldn't really taste anything else. Anyhow, I won't be trying this again, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPENABAUER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gonzales, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2005
Pretty good. It has a very unique taste. (I'm a big fan of trying lots of cuisines but I've never had anything like this.) I used pomegranate concentrate because that's the only thing I could find, and only 7 ounces because I figured it was stronger than syrup and wanted to be safe. Served next to basmati rice, upon which the extra sauce and walnuts were piled. That worked out quite well. I was wavering between three and four stars and decided on four because everyone should make this at least once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Okay, I must have done something wrong, because this was bad! I have an adventurous palate, but this dish was too intense or bitter. We used Pomegranate Juice- concentrated (10 ounce bottle) that we got at our favorite middle eastern market (that's all they had and they had a lot of it), so we figured this must be it. But, again, just so bad. Please advise. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States