Persian Cucumber Yogurt (Maast-o Khiar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
I am Persian also, and I agree that Maast-o-Khiar can not be forgotten in any meal. A tip for anyone making this is if don't use garlic. Garlic makes the dish taste a little less tasty. Also, the tradition is to use a grater to grate the cucumbers, not to cube them! Just thought I would share with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
This wasn't exactly the taste I was looking for. I was trying to copy the maast o khiar that I love from a local restaurant. I did substitute sour cream for teh yogurt, perhaps this is where I went wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Republic, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Very tasty and great with bagel chips, naan, pita, or practically any starch. I make mine extra garlicky and need something to buffer the intense taste! To make it a bit thicker, I strain the yogurt for ~6 hours - just line a strainer with mesh fabric or cheesecloth and place over a bowl. Pour the yogurt in, stir after a couple hours and wait some more. You end up with a really thick and creamy greek style yogurt that really compliments the cucumber and garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Refreshing on a hot summer day. My husband said it was just like the stuff they serve in Turkey. I added a little celery seed because I like it--but the recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Very nice as salad dressing! A keeper definetely. One can vary with chopped fresh herbs, add some olive oil, cumin... I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Goiânia, Goiás, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
DH says this taste just like his momon used to make! My FIL also like this with roasted garlic in place of the cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2005
It needed more cucumbers I thought. Other than that it was good..not great...just good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2004
I have returned to this recipe over and over again for the past 5ish years. I rarely put the full amount of cucumber, and never full amount of dill, but we love this tasty condiment. If you have trouble with wateriness, be sure to seed your cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
In Malta this is called Tzatziki. Seems its popular all over? Very good, and a grat cool summer side dish. Its also versitile, I play around with this recipe depending on whats available. Its really good with a few sliced black olives. Sometimes I add chopped nuts too! No plain yogurt? More than once I have used sour cream and cream cheese mixed. Great with Gyro's !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Deelicious! Reminiscent of Hungarian cucumber salad.Added a little seasoned salt or celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Cucumber Sandwiches I

Yummy little party sandwiches with cocktail rye bread and cream cheese.

How to Make Cold Cucumber Soup

Make this sour-cream and yogurt cucumber soup with an immersion blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States