Persian Cucumber Yogurt (Maast-o Khiar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
My In-laws (from India) LOVED this! I'm the new star in the family. I made this to accompany the "Moroccan Lamb Kabobs" (see my review on All-Recipes), and there was none left. I followed the recipe for a serving of 4, grated the cumber to keep this as a dressing for the kabobs and followed the rest of the recipe as is, garlic and all, it was perfect. The only thing I might do is add a bit more salt. Oh, and I used low-fat yogurt because that's what I had on hand. My in-laws want me to make some to keep stocked in their fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.MomRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
this recipe is ok as is, but we always make it with dried mint, never dill. i also grate the cucumber and i do not add garlic. sometimes i add walnut and craisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shireen95
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
it was good a little bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Yessenia Kissel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: River Ridge, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
Grated the cucumber as others suggested and substituted a tablespoon of chopped red onion for the shallot. We loved it with the "Middle Eastern Rice with Black Beans" on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dranoel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I personally think there was way too much dill. But there's lots of great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2011
I did vary a little but it's pretty yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
My persian friends this recipe is spot-on. However, beware of portions. IT IS HUGE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrsolyaD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Absolutely gorgeous! I ate mine with celery sticks for a light snack but would definitely serve it with lamb or spicy chicken and rice. I didn't have any shallots so I used a half a tablespoon of dried onion flakes instead, and chilled it overnight. I also used 2% fat plain yogurt from Sainsbury's. I am going to serve this with the brisket during Passover for a real Middle Eastern meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Rafael, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Made this for my Persian in-laws. It was a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodiS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rainier, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
YUMMY! my only suggestion is to use a shredder and shred the cucumbers instead of cubing them. it's a little too chunky with the cucumbers cubed. but otherwise great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Cucumber Sandwiches I

Yummy little party sandwiches with cocktail rye bread and cream cheese.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States