Persian Cucumber Yogurt (Maast-o Khiar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
Deelicious! Reminiscent of Hungarian cucumber salad.Added a little seasoned salt or celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Refreshing on a hot summer day. My husband said it was just like the stuff they serve in Turkey. I added a little celery seed because I like it--but the recipe is perfect as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jefferson, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Martin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
I might use less shallots, but this was an easy and tasty side dish to cool down a meal. It will also be fun to experiment with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paul is hungry

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2004
In Malta this is called Tzatziki. Seems its popular all over? Very good, and a grat cool summer side dish. Its also versitile, I play around with this recipe depending on whats available. Its really good with a few sliced black olives. Sometimes I add chopped nuts too! No plain yogurt? More than once I have used sour cream and cream cheese mixed. Great with Gyro's !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
DH says this taste just like his momon used to make! My FIL also like this with roasted garlic in place of the cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This is one of the VERY few ways I will eat cucumber, or yogurt, for that matter. Great with falafel breaded chicken, and with fat free yogurt it's an awesome healthy substitute for tarter sauce. A dash of sesame oil gives it a tahini taste, too. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2006
Very tasty and great with bagel chips, naan, pita, or practically any starch. I make mine extra garlicky and need something to buffer the intense taste! To make it a bit thicker, I strain the yogurt for ~6 hours - just line a strainer with mesh fabric or cheesecloth and place over a bowl. Pour the yogurt in, stir after a couple hours and wait some more. You end up with a really thick and creamy greek style yogurt that really compliments the cucumber and garlic flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
Very nice as salad dressing! A keeper definetely. One can vary with chopped fresh herbs, add some olive oil, cumin... I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Goiânia, Goiás, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
This was wonderful. I could eat it with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This was a great recipe, I brought it to a party with some flat bread and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Thai Cucumber Salad

Learn how to make this delicate cucumber salad, full of Thai flavors.

Cucumber Sandwiches I

Yummy little party sandwiches with cocktail rye bread and cream cheese.

Creamy Dill Cucumber Toasties

This simple, creamy appetizer takes its cue from English tea sandwiches.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States