Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
This was a great recipie. My kids and family love the pototo version and have asked for it several times since I first made it. It is time consuming though. I use peppered bacon, and fry the boiled perogies in the bacon grease. My only problem was there wasn't enough dough. I had to double that part of the recipie. My husband took some to work, and a coworker offered to pay me to make some for him! Thank you, Doris
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
I used this recipe only for the dough, and added some fresh cracked pepper for a little flavour. Make sure you keep the dough thick enough, or they all fall apart when boiled!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2001
I couldn't rate the kid part because I didn't feed this to a child, but I thought they rocked! Fantastic flavor. I made a vegetarian version however, which is really the authentic way anyhow. I used smoked mozzerlla and aged white cheddar though. The smoked flavor is incredible! I also fried them in olive oil and onions. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2002
Excellent recipe! Very manageable!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
I followed the recipe for the most part to make the dough, but my polish family always sauteed ground beef and sauerkraut together in a pan and then used this mixture to stuff the dough. Also after we boil the perogies, we always fry them in a pan with onions. Not the healthiest meal, but it is very good. I am not really sure what the "traditional" filling is, but my family either used potatos and cheese or this ground beef version, which is the family favorite. We also always served potato salad and coleslaw and my grandfathers homemade polish kielbasa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
Great perogies! Easy to make and much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Pagosa Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
The flavour of these perogies was so much better than store-bought! But I had way way way too much potato filling - I got 17 perogies out of the batch, and used maybe 1/3 of the potato mixture. I'd cut the potatoes to 2 lbs, bacon to 1/3 lb, and the cheese to 1/2 cup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2003
AWFUL.followed recipe, found filling rather bland. recipe made way too much potato filling for the amount of perogies that i was able to get out of the dough. will not make again. the ones in the freezer at the grocery store are much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2003
these were good but i didn't realize that the dough wouldn't go very far i wasted a ton
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2003
These were NOT good at ALL! SOOOO bland and way too much filling. My husband even hated them. Ill buy the store kind form now on
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States