Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This recipe was a total and complete disaster. I have never had dough stick to itself as bad as this dough did. It was extremely hard to roll out and would not hold its shape when cut. I laid my perogies on each other in overlapping rows just like I have every time I have made them. They all stuck together. I tried to salvage as many as possible by cutting them apart with a knife, but it was a total disaster. I made my own filling so I can't rate the filling in this recipe. Do not use this recipe to make your dough. You've been warned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
The cheesey potato filling was fabulous! Unfortunately, the dough was really hard to make. The end texture just wasn't the same as store bought. So even though they were really tasty, the effort involved is hard to justify the need to make these from scratch. On the other hand, the filling is great as a side dish on its own!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
I found the dough in this recipe to be too sticky and as others noted, not enough for the amount of filling. I omitted the egg in the second batch of dough I made and just added enough water to create a good consistency. I didn't try this filling but I made one with the following ingredients: butter, milk, clove garlic, grated onion, fresh parsley, parmesan cheese, and nutmeg, salt ,and pepper to taste. It turned out phenomenal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melhenn27

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
These were great according to my boyfriend. I will say , though, that the dough needs to be at least doubled if not more because the mixtures make a lot of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Greenville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2006
I gave this a five because I found the dough easy to work with. I didn't use this filling because I had mine already made up. Really enjoyed this recipe otherwise. Thank you for it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOLDENPHOENIX82

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Naples, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Great recipe! I made the sauerkraut perogy and they were a big hit! Dough was very easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alexander, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
The dough for the perogies was the best I have ever worked with. I did improvise on the filling as I was really only looking for a good perogie dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
They take awhile to make, but well worth it! My family loved them! They said that they tasted MUCH better than store bought! I make a whole bunch, and freeze them! That way I can have a great snack anytime!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PANDABEAR01

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
Wow, what a great recipe! All of the filling options are tasty; these disappear in a flash. Quite time-consuming to make, but after I made them once my husband swore we'd never buy perogies again. I'm currently making a huge batch to freeze so we can eat them after we have our third baby!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
I could never get these to brown at all, they had no flavor and my husband and I had to throw them out and eat sandwiches for dinner. We won't make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States