Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
These were really good! I love perogies, and thought they'd be hard to make. However, using this recipe, I found them very easy. The dough is just as good as store boughten ones, and wasn't hard to seal. I took the advise from other reviews and made less potato. I made 3.5 lb instead of 5 lb, and still had half of it left, so doubling the dough batch is a must. I made both bacon and onion ones, boiled them for about 4-5 minutes, then browned them on both sides. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Perogies are honored tradition in my family. We know our perogies. The only change I made was that instead of putting the bacon in the potatoes I sauteed the bacon with onions slowly until it was cooked down and soft then put it over the cooked perogies. Huge hit! Really good dough. Easy to work with and I am a horrible failure with other doughs. Potatoes do outweigh the dough, I had to make 2 batches to match the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Very good but I ommited the Kraut. And after I boiled them added melted butter and sprinkled with a little garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberNicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I was looking for something with bacon and cheese to make for my toddler after he had lost some weight from being ill. He hasn't tried them yet but I loved them and that was without frying them. This was my first time making and trying them and I was very pleasantly surprised. I used wholemeal flour as that is what was on hand, and I added a combination of garlic and onion salt in place of the plain salt for the pastry. The pastry also sat for a few hours before I actually got to use it as my toddler was keeping me busy. I had no hassles with stickiness etc, it rolled out beautifully. Thanks for an excellent recipe. (eta-toddler has since tried them and loved them also, so it's definitely now worth 5 stars)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I just used the dough portion of this recipe. I didn't find it to be too sticky; it was easy and manageable. It went great with a garlic mashed potato filling and fried with onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Very Good. Time consuming but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This is the same, almost, recipe I learned long ago but I use some sauteed onion and some sasuage also. The comment about the dough too thin is absolute no matter what recipe is used, otherwise it becomes a stew which is not too bad in it's self :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Very good. But you need to fry them after you boil them. It tastes so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I made the potato version of the filling. It tasted so good! However, the filling was way too much for the dough. Or maybe i just didnt roll it out thin enough? I loved the perogies my school cafeteria makes. The ones i made tasted exactly the same! if not better! All i can say is wow...this recipe ended my perogie cravings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
The dough was a little sticky at first, but I just kneeded it with some flour after I mixed it up, then when I rolled it out I used a lot of flour. It worked great after that. I used my own filling, but the dough was great. Oh, and I doubled the dough recipe so I could have some to freeze for later. It definatly made enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States