Perogies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
potatoe filling was great but the dough recipe wasn't. Never really molded that well and i spent over an hour trying to work with it. Don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
These were really good! I love perogies, and thought they'd be hard to make. However, using this recipe, I found them very easy. The dough is just as good as store boughten ones, and wasn't hard to seal. I took the advise from other reviews and made less potato. I made 3.5 lb instead of 5 lb, and still had half of it left, so doubling the dough batch is a must. I made both bacon and onion ones, boiled them for about 4-5 minutes, then browned them on both sides. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katelyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Perogies are honored tradition in my family. We know our perogies. The only change I made was that instead of putting the bacon in the potatoes I sauteed the bacon with onions slowly until it was cooked down and soft then put it over the cooked perogies. Huge hit! Really good dough. Easy to work with and I am a horrible failure with other doughs. Potatoes do outweigh the dough, I had to make 2 batches to match the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
Very good but I ommited the Kraut. And after I boiled them added melted butter and sprinkled with a little garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberNicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
I was looking for something with bacon and cheese to make for my toddler after he had lost some weight from being ill. He hasn't tried them yet but I loved them and that was without frying them. This was my first time making and trying them and I was very pleasantly surprised. I used wholemeal flour as that is what was on hand, and I added a combination of garlic and onion salt in place of the plain salt for the pastry. The pastry also sat for a few hours before I actually got to use it as my toddler was keeping me busy. I had no hassles with stickiness etc, it rolled out beautifully. Thanks for an excellent recipe. (eta-toddler has since tried them and loved them also, so it's definitely now worth 5 stars)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2007
I just used the dough portion of this recipe. I didn't find it to be too sticky; it was easy and manageable. It went great with a garlic mashed potato filling and fried with onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2007
Very Good. Time consuming but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2007
This is the same, almost, recipe I learned long ago but I use some sauteed onion and some sasuage also. The comment about the dough too thin is absolute no matter what recipe is used, otherwise it becomes a stew which is not too bad in it's self :-).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Very good. But you need to fry them after you boil them. It tastes so much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
I made the potato version of the filling. It tasted so good! However, the filling was way too much for the dough. Or maybe i just didnt roll it out thin enough? I loved the perogies my school cafeteria makes. The ones i made tasted exactly the same! if not better! All i can say is wow...this recipe ended my perogie cravings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Shenzhen, Guangdong Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Polish Perogies

See how to make traditional potato and cheese-filled perogies.

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

Traditional Indiana Breaded Tenderloin

Watch how to make this sandwich that is a favorite of Indiana residents.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States