Perogie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Love this recipe! I've been making this for years and it's always a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
This was not too bad. I made mine differently than the recipe and when it came out of the oven it was very watery, due to the cottage cheese. I did not use eggs (my fiance is a vegetarian) so that may have been the problem. I also used mashed potatoes and mixed milk, butter, salt, pepper, garlic, parmesan, cheddar and onions sauteed in butter (to taste)in the potatoes. I layered the potatoes with a final layer of noodles then sprinkled more cheddar and onions on top. Didn't use more butter as I wanted to cut back on the oil. It tasted just like the pierogies you buy from the old ladies at the churches and though it was really soft and a little runny out of the oven, the next day as a leftover it reheated really well and it was much "stiffer". I liked it better as a leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This one gets a 5 out of 5 from our family. Taste is excellent and I, like many others, boil and mash the potatoes to save time. You can do so many variances of this recipe that it never gets boring. I use DRY cottage cheese instead of regular and I use an extra egg or two. I also have used Italian sausage removed from the casing as an alternate for the bacon. This makes it super yummy and flavourful. This is a recipe that is lengthy in preparation so I usually prepare it early in the day when I have the time, and set it aside to be cooked at supper time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherylB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
Everyone at the party loved it. Makes more than seven servings (in my opinion). I boiled the potatoes and skipped the bacon (vegetarian friends you know). Very good. Next time I might skip the cottage cheese altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This was the easiest to make. I made this along with traditional lasagna. This was gone first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Froggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Great basic recipe. I made some minor changes, boiled potatoes w/ skins on until tender then added dried minced onion & cheese. Also added some German Sausage to cottage cheese layer, definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Are we rating on taste alone??? Or taste with along such things as preparation. As far as taste it deserves 10 stars, but the preparation stinks. Way too much time with the potatoes and I don't feel it's necessary. I was going to use instant mashed pototoes when I first read this recipe for convenience, but I forgot and had already started. (Maybe wanted to give the author benefit of the doubt *shrugs*) But anways, I will definitely make this again but ONLY with mashed potatoes, either instant or homemade. This is not a fancy dish which should require so much work! 10 stars for taste though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Way too much work but it was good. I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michele Beers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelayres, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: South Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I love perogies and this recipie was even better than the ones at the store! It was quick and easy and very tasty. I made it for me and my bf, so I scaled it down to a 8X8 pan and we ate the whole thing. I only had canned mushrooms though, so I omitted them, but next time I will be sure to have potabellas! Awesome recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
This is a great basic recipe, because it leaves so much room for modifications! I used ricotta cheese instead of cottage cheese, I also just boiled and mashed my taters instead of roasting them. Cut the bacon up and crumbled it on top as opposed to layering strips across the top. I fried one red onion in butter for the top...then when it came out of the oven I scattered chopped green onions on top and drizzled sour cream on top. To me green onions and sour cream go hand in hand with perogies and bacon. The whole family loved it, even the kids wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 11-20 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States