Perogie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This is a great tasting recipe! Well worth all the steps and ingredients but it took me two hours to make it. My husband's coworkers will enjoy it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Great basic crowd-pleaser. I made a couple of small changes, as others have: - Boil and mash potatoes (versus roasting) - Add 3/4 c sour cream and 1/2 tsp onion powder to mashed potatoes - Fry 2 - 3 chopped onions along with the bacon for the topping, and serve with sour cream. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Love the recipe, but I left out the cottage cheese and eggs, I used mashed potatoes also and added a drained bag of sauerkraut and sauted it with the red onion, chopped up half a Rosol's kielbasa finely and tossed that in with the sauerkraut and onion. Layered the noodles then the potato & cheese, butter then the bacon, sauerkraut, onion and kielbasa all the way to the top. My family loved it, I've taken it to friends homes and to work and no leftovers!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dssantaniello

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
Fantastic! I usually do my meal prep for the next day after the kids have gone to bed. So, last night I made the mashed potatoes and cooked the bacon and onions together (I just like sauteed onions in recipes). Today I did the other stuff and assembled it. I threw some crumbled spicy sausage in with the bacon, just because I had some left over, and it was absolutely fantastic! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This is worthy of five stars. Everybody liked it...my kids scraped off the ricotta cheese. lol. Next time I will half the recipe. We had at least half left over after me, my wife and two kids ate. I thought it was expensive too. I did buy the good bacon I guess but even the ricotta and cottage cheese were like 12 bucks. Over all though it was delicious. I followed almost exact. I used half ricotta and half cottage cheese, and didn't use eggs, cooked one LARGE diced red onion with the chopped bacon and didn't use any butter!! Will make again but half this time and maybe with less potato....so I guess that means I have to cut back on the cheddar as well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I call this recipe Lazy Man Pierogies, and it is great, the ingredients are all the same, always a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FebruaryRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Next time we will use home made mashed potatoes because it just seemed like an extra step to bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I give you 2 stars i love this recipe but i just used mozza and cheddar in my layers along with bacon strips sauteed in onions and i boiled my potatoes mmmmm good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Awesome! I like many others use mashed potatoes vs. roasted. I also use half the cottage cheese. I didn't use bacon either, but still turned out amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2008
On top of how long this took to make it tasted just okay and am very disappointed. My husband was irked that it wasn't good either since he had to watch the baby while I fixed this on a Saturday afternoon. I did alter the recipe by mashing the potatoes and left out the bacon and onions but that wouldn't have changed anything in the end result. Where the recipe messed up (and I was too much of a novice to alter it ahead of time) was the fact that the recipe calls for noodles on the bottom, then the layer of cottage cheese mixture, and then another layer of noodles to be topped with potato mixture. I had tons of noodles left over but by the time I realized it the dish was already assembled. If you make this, please add more layers of noodles and alternate the fillings. Mine turned out like cheesy mashed potatoes and have a huge 9x13 pan full. We only ate just a small amount each. At least it was an inexpensive dish but being a new mom my time is very valuable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States