Perogie Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2007
Great basic recipe. I made some minor changes, boiled potatoes w/ skins on until tender then added dried minced onion & cheese. Also added some German Sausage to cottage cheese layer, definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2007
This was the easiest to make. I made this along with traditional lasagna. This was gone first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Froggy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
I call this recipe Lazy Man Pierogies, and it is great, the ingredients are all the same, always a crowd pleaser!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FebruaryRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South River, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
This was so delicious! It tasted just like a real perogee. I used instant potatoes instead of roasted to cut down the time and it still turned out amazing... I shudder to think how fattening this was, but it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAH MACDONALD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Thorold, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I love perogies and this recipie was even better than the ones at the store! It was quick and easy and very tasty. I made it for me and my bf, so I scaled it down to a 8X8 pan and we ate the whole thing. I only had canned mushrooms though, so I omitted them, but next time I will be sure to have potabellas! Awesome recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
This is worthy of five stars. Everybody liked it...my kids scraped off the ricotta cheese. lol. Next time I will half the recipe. We had at least half left over after me, my wife and two kids ate. I thought it was expensive too. I did buy the good bacon I guess but even the ricotta and cottage cheese were like 12 bucks. Over all though it was delicious. I followed almost exact. I used half ricotta and half cottage cheese, and didn't use eggs, cooked one LARGE diced red onion with the chopped bacon and didn't use any butter!! Will make again but half this time and maybe with less potato....so I guess that means I have to cut back on the cheddar as well!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
This one gets a 5 out of 5 from our family. Taste is excellent and I, like many others, boil and mash the potatoes to save time. You can do so many variances of this recipe that it never gets boring. I use DRY cottage cheese instead of regular and I use an extra egg or two. I also have used Italian sausage removed from the casing as an alternate for the bacon. This makes it super yummy and flavourful. This is a recipe that is lengthy in preparation so I usually prepare it early in the day when I have the time, and set it aside to be cooked at supper time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CherylB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Love this recipe! I've been making this for years and it's always a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
Are we rating on taste alone??? Or taste with along such things as preparation. As far as taste it deserves 10 stars, but the preparation stinks. Way too much time with the potatoes and I don't feel it's necessary. I was going to use instant mashed pototoes when I first read this recipe for convenience, but I forgot and had already started. (Maybe wanted to give the author benefit of the doubt *shrugs*) But anways, I will definitely make this again but ONLY with mashed potatoes, either instant or homemade. This is not a fancy dish which should require so much work! 10 stars for taste though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Next time we will use home made mashed potatoes because it just seemed like an extra step to bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Noodle Casserole I

Incredibly simple to make, this tuna casserole really satisfies.

Country Tuna Noodle Casserole

This prize-winning tuna casserole is a one-pot wonder!

Best Tuna Casserole

This yummy tuna casserole has cheese, noodles, and potato chips!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States