Peri Peri African Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Pretty good recipe. I grew up eating and cooking the Piri-Piri chicken. As most who read the reviews advised, never get rid of the remaining marinade. It's the life of the chicken. You need to baste it on the chicken while grilling, as the chicken can run dry. And that is where all the flavour is. I would recomend to leave the chicken in the marinade overnight for best results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2005
Extremely easy to make and ingredients you probably have on hand. I marinated it overnite so the lemon flavor was really infused in the chicken. Couldn't grill it - so I baked it in the oven at 375 degrees for 40 min. and then popped it under the broiler for a few minutes to get a nice crusty skin. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Delicious dish, I did not discard the marinade but rather baked the chicken in the oven with the marinade (emptied half. It was delicious and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2006
Don't discard the marinade, pot it into a pot, and pour the juices from the cooked chicken into the same pot let it reduce add about 2 tsps honey and serve over rice also, don't use the ginger but pour honey over the chicken just before it is done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I first tasted this dish at Springboks, a local South African retaurant, & went wild. This recipe duplicated the seasoning perfectly! For those whose palates prefer less fire, cut the chili powder to half the amount & serve over cous-cous or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaMaBuA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: West Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
I've played around w/ this recipe a couple times now--using less paprika,added black pepper, added honey, etc. It has potential but needs something and the paprika is just too overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newberry, Michigan, USA
Living In: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
This is the recipe I have been looking for, rather garlicy but it taste very yummy.I add a few drops of tabasco on the mixture for more tangy taste. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bunda Estherlita Suryoputro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bontang, Kalimantan Timur, Indonesia
Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
What a moist chicken this made! I used boneless skinless and had to used powdered ginger, but this turned out better than I expected. I marinated for 24 hours in the fridge. Very fragrant and great presentation!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Photo by anhnguyen81
Reviewed: May 10, 2010
I added 1/2 teaspoon cumin powder and 1/2 cup olive oil, the chicken turns out very shiny. My husband love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
i really enjoyed this! the only change i would make is i think next time i'll marinade the chicken overnight - let all the flavours really seep in!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsmaggiehunter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Jamaican Jerk Chicken

See how to make spicy Jamaican jerk chicken on the grill.

Honey Mustard Grilled Chicken

See how to make a great marinade and basting sauce for grilled chicken.

Chili Lime Chicken Kabobs

See how to make a quick, flavorful marinade for grilled chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States