Perfumed Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Made this for the first time today for a Mother's Day barbecue. Lots of coconut fans there. Everyone loved it, but I expected it to be much more moist. I did add a 1/2 cup of shredded coconut to the cake batter as one reviewer suggested. I made half the frosting which was plenty sweet but did not cover the entire cake as I'd hoped. Next time I'll underbake it just a few minutes and make the full amount of frosting. This was an easy recipe that yielded no leftovers. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This only needs to be refrigerated if you use fresh coconut. My cake fell, but it did taste good. I used half the frosting. It is very sweet. Also, I used Almond flavoring because I could not find coconut flavoring in my area. It gave it a nice taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
Followed this recipe almost exact, except I couldn't find a cake mix without pudding already in. I put a box of pudding mix in anyways, and this cake turned out so moist! I didn't have any coconut extract, but wasn't looking for a super strong coconut cake. I also added a little sweetened flake coconut to the batter. I checked my box mix baking time, and it was only about 25 minutes, so I undercooked by a few minutes. I could have taken it out even earlier, but it was fine. I used the party cake topping recipe from this site, but substituted coconut cream pudding mix and coconut milk. YUMMY! This cake was inhaled by my coworkers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalyana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
I made this cake in a bundt pan, so had to cook about 50 minutes. Also used a bit more toasted coconut to completely cover the cake. Sent to work with my husband, so I never got to try it - but I heard it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I made this cake on Sunday morning and it truly does smell divine! The cake is easy to whip up although I did have to use regular coconut pudding mix as I could not find any of the instant kind. The cakes were VERY moist, so much so that I cracked one taking it out of the pan. I will know better next time. One other thing that I did was make less frosting. I used about 1/4 cup of butter, 1/4 cup coconut milk, 1/2 tsp coconut extract and 2 cups icing sugar and there was just enough frosting to cover the cake. Everyone who tries this cake, loves it! Not to mention, it is very light tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peculiah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
I am a coconut fanatic and try a new coconut recipe every week. This is by far the best coconut cake I have ever made or tasted. It got rave reviews and recipe request with our small group Bible study last night. The frosting recipe definately make too much. So I used my leftovers on a second cake a week later. I bulked it up with a little more coco milk and powdered sugar. Stored it in the fridge while cake cooled. I whipped it up with the beaters again when I went to frost my cake. Everything seemed fine, but as I was frosting, it started melting and sort of turned into a big mess. Not sure what happened there, but still delicious and no complaints! I will make this recipe over and over! Oh, I couldn't find "instant" coconut cream pudding in our store, so I used the "cook and serve" variety in the recipe the same way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
A friend and I made this for a Hawaiian party and it was fantastic. You can cut the icing recipe in half, though, if you don't like thick frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
don't know what i did wrong, but this cake did not impress me. i bake for a living and was not happy with recipe. followed recipe did not experience the coconut aroma mentioned and cake was not real moist as promised. icing called for 7 cups of sugar, i used 5 and that was plenty..was still very sweet. will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
I made this cake for work. It is a wonderful cake with coconut flavor bursting throughout. All of my co-workers raved about it. I am going to make one for home now, but I am going to soak the left over coconut milk into the bread like my mom always did on her coconut cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
WOW. I think I died and went to heaven. After a dry run last week, I made this cake again with a couple of small changes, which I think improved it, even though it is an AWESOME cake just as it is. First, I added 1/2 cup of shredded coconut to the batter, and the biggest and the best change was that I made a cream cheese frosting, adding the coconut extract. I always slightly underbake my cakes and I suggest you do the same...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States