Perfumed Coconut Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
My review is for the CAKE PART ONLY: The cake part is 5 stars. I used another frosting. I don't see how anyone got a bad result out of the cake part of this recipe. I WILL say, though, that I did add liquid to the cake batter. In my case I added buttermilk, but I would've used coconut milk otherwise (I had already measured it out and frozen the remainder of the can). I didn't like the texture the cake batter was getting as the pudding "developed". It was probably fine, but it was giving me a distinct pound-cake impression, so I loosened the batter with buttermilk, around 1/4 cup or so, just a splash at a time. There's not much else to say -- it smelled great, it tasted great, it was moist, and tender like all box cake mixes. Thank you for the tasty coconut layer cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This cake was not moist at all, and the cake part really didn't have much coconut flavor, the cake mix overpowered it. Everyone that ate the cake said it was good, but thought I only put coconut on the outside of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I made the cake part as directed by the recipe. The icing I had to kind of wing it since I was trying to make it with Splenda. The Splenda did not disolve in the butter and was very grainy so I had to add 8 oz of cream cheese to smooth it out. This cut down on the sweetness of the icing considerably. Next time I will probably just use a basic cream cheese icing and add the coconut extract and coconut milk. Anyway, the final result was probably one of the best cakes I have ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Izzabooz_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This is the best coconut cake ever! Everyone requests it for their birthday cake! Bravo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I am a coconut-aholic, but this was just too sweet for me. The cake part was moist and good, but would be better with an icing that's toned down a bit. Very pretty, but just way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I've been using this recipe for 3 years now and it is AMAZING. I don't change anything, other than omitting the pecans. My husband loves coconut, so I made this for his birthday. This cake is moist and SO full of flavor! My kids loved it so much that now they ask for this cake as well. It just doesn't get any better than this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendi

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by debbeeT
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Fabulous coconut kitchen when cooking! I used a hand mixer for 5 minutes and after baking 30 minutes at 350 the cake was above the sides on both pans. After cooling 15 minutes they both fell. As you see from my photo they still looked good frosted. This is a gift so I'll have to wait for the birthday girl to tell me if it was cooked through. I halved the frosting as suggested by another reviewer and added a few extra teaspoons of additional coconut milk. Perfect amount of frosting. The frosting is so pure white that I skipped the toasted coconut which would dress it down. Wish I knew how to make roses!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
If I could give this cake 10 stars, I would! I have never heard my relatives rave on and on about any dessert I've made as much as they did about this cake. I actually set out to make it following the recipe exactly, but discovered last-minute the store did not have any coconut instant pudding...and I discovered I was short on a few ingredients. Oy! So I substituted French Vanilla instant pudding and it worked great. Then, instead of SEVEN cups of powdered sugar, I found I only had FOUR. (panic time!) but the frosting turned out SO lovely - I can't imagine it with seven cups of sugar! This cake was to die for and is a new annual tradition in my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Okay..I loved everything about this cake! The icing on the other hand..was not so crazy about! It didn't seem to pair well with the cake and I wish I hadn't added it to the cake after all was said and done. It was too sweet and I wasn't crazy about the texture or taste. I would DEFINITELY make the cake again but I will look for another icing recipe to use in place of the one listed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Photo by CATIETOD
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
Okay, so I made the cake and was trimming it in preparation to frost it, and I was nibbling the trimmings the whole while. I thought the flavor, texture, and moistness of the cake was *fantastic.* Then I frosted it and decorated it. Frankly, the cake tastes *way* better than the frosting. It has a very pleasing, mild coconut flavor that other cakes have failed to deliver. However, the icing is achingly sweet (I did leave out the coconut) and, I think, doesn't pair well with the cake (just my opinion). That being said, the kids loved it and it's completely gone two days later. Five star cake, three star frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Coconut Cake

See how to make a moist and creamy coconut cake.

German Chocolate Cake III

This rich, authentic cake is dense with chocolate, coconut, and nuts.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States