Perfectly Moist Irish Wheaten Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
My first time making Irish Soda Bread. Used my kitchenaid to mix, very east to put together. Not sure if Irish Soda Bread dough is suppose to be a bit on the crumbly side, or if I need to add a bit more buttermilk? It was a bit sweet for my taste buds, but it's an excellent recipe. I will make again and cut back the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTRICIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I followed the recipe as it was suggested by BelfastJimmy, including adding one egg, and we think this is the best bread for us....it went perfectly with the Guinness Corned Beef recipe for St. Patrick's Day. A definite keeper recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri Ostenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Union City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
This is a great alternative to soda bread! I made it for St. Paddy's day and changed the following: I used a buttermilk powder and water, brushed the crust with a salt water brine (water with a buch of salt), sprinkled a little red pepper and tarragon on the crust, and melted some butter over the top when it came out of the oven. Served with parsley butter (butter mixedith fresh parsley), corned beef, and a potato kugel. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
Not sure what I did wrong, but I followed the ingredients and ended with a sloppy mess that was nothing like dough. It took another 150g (ish) of flour to get it more dough like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This bread is good but when I sliced it the sides fell off some slices. The only alterations I made was that I used real butter instead of margarine (which is essentially plastic) & olive oil instead of veg. oil. I barely kneeded it because it was so sticky. The top crust was pretty hard. Next time I will use an egg as another suggested in hopes it will hold together better, & I will cut down on the sugar. The sugar made it a bit too much like a sweetbread instead of regular bread. It was also so sticky that it was impossible to cut an X on the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
This is excellent and easy. Very moist and flavorful. I happened to have made bacon the same day, so I decided to be frugal and use bacon fat in place of the butter and the vegetable oil. I also made butter in my KA and used the buttermilk in the bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This was excellent. We really enjoyed it. I was not able to knead it because it was more like a cornbread batter than a dough. I used unsalted butter instead of margerine and baked it in a round cake pan. It rose up nice and high. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
As a Newry native this is close to my mother's recipe but I use half white and half brown. Good recipe but just a little to heavy on the wholewheat for my taste. Thanks - good to see this one in print.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2011
Just want to add my praise into the mix, I'm from Northern Ireland, and this tastes exactly like the bread my local bakery makes back home. I hate to say this, but this recipe trumps even my mother's ! Shhh.. it's our secret.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Just got back from N. Ireland and wanted to match what I had every day there. This was reasonably close but a little too crumbly. Next time I'll add an egg as a previous reviewer suggested, and I'll increase the sugar by a tsp if not more. I love that this bread is yeast-free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States