Perfectly Moist Irish Wheaten Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
This was so good, and very "authentic" Irish! I will make this frequently--it's so quick and easy. I did as another reviewer, and mixed it in my Kitchen Aid mixer with the bread hook attachment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Hearty, but pretty crumbly. Very easy to make, but probably would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mentor, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
The bread is gone in a very short time, with my family of 5! I used white whole wheat flour and powdered buttermilk. I also substituted butter for margarine. I think that if it were baked on the paper, it might not have burned on the bottom. It was very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rose
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I was excited to try this recipe to go along with the Irish Beef stew. It was very easy to make and the flavor is incredible. If you aren't a breadmaker (like me) but want to try your hand, pick this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I had never eaten or tried making bread like this before so I made this exactly as written and boy am I glad that I did. It was wonderful. I did use fat free buttermilk. It is a little sticky when you do the kneeding so I guess that's why you don't do too much of that? Just had to add a little flour to my hands and sprinkle on it when kneeding. Thank you for such a great and healthy recipe. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Unlike my usual M.O. I followed the recipe and it was delightfully easy and yummy. Went great with our corned beef supper. I think it would be fun to experiment with it next time by adding some savory additions or dried fruit, 'though it holds up very well as is. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I had some left over buttermilk from a different recipe I wanted to use up and decided to try this recipe. It is fantastic!! I added 1 1/4 cup of raisins as well baked it in a loaf pan rather than a round pan and it turned out excellent!! I have made a few trips to the store specially to by buttermilk now for this recipe...it has not failed me yet!! It is a must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This is a very tasty bread and simple to make. Like one of the other reviewers, I used my Kitchenaid stand up mixer (my Christmas present this year!) and it only took about 10 minutes, plus kneeding time. I rated 4 stars only because it was SO dense, that I can barely finish a whole slice at once. I do like the wheaty flavor and the slight sweetness of the crust. My husband however, who is the real bread lover in the house, only thought it was so so. (He's also a picky eater)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
tried this recipe for the first time yesterday and it worked out perfectly! so quick and easy, and got just the bread i was hoping for. only one comment - i needed to add a little more flour than the recipe gave, as the dough was initially a bit on the sticky side, but that might have been my scales. will definitely bake this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Yummy! Not dry like soda bread so often is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elk Mound, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Shell Lake, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Amazingly Easy Irish Soda Bread

See how to make old-fashioned Irish soda bread.

Irresistible Irish Soda Bread

This soda bread is dense and moist, thanks to the tangy addition of buttermilk.

French Bread

The crust is crunchy and the center is moist. What’s not to love?

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States