Perfect White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I have tried several recipes that were not so great... but this one was amazing! It tasted amazing and looked amazing. I also followed the advise to bake it at a lower temperature and leave the bread in during preheating.... Great Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Simply amazing! I cooked the loafs for 35 minutes at 375 degrees. The recipe doesn't need to be changed at all, perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I loved this recipe and it gave me great confidence in my baking cause it turns out perfect each time. 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalahara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I am 54 years old, have made my own bread for over 30 years; very few times could I eat my breads like the store bought bread, either too dry, or too chewy, or too crumbly. I made this recipe and used a preheated 375 degree oven, I pulled it out when the internal temperature was 210 degrees, let it cool overnight, thin sliced it and made toast for breakfast. Like the name says, it was perfect. All other white bread recipes are now in the trash! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I've made other types of breads before (like sweet breads/rolls and pizza crusts), but this is my first attempt at an everyday loaf of plain bread... and I've gotta say, this is fantastic! I used just shy of the entire 6 cups of flour, and it came out perfectly. Like another reviewer, though, after the second 1 hour raise, during which I left the rising dough in the oven (off, of course), I turned the oven on, just leaving it in there, to 375F. I baked for approximately 28 minutes, and it was perfectly cooked. I'll be making this a LOT more! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UHElle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This is by far the best bread I have ever made. So simple, but so good! Caution on the milk, bring to a boil only to the point where there are "bubbles" around the edge of the pot, otherwise you destroy the enzymes. Thank you so much for such a good bread recipe, I am sure my waist will love it as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Awsome right out of the oven and with butter. Makes great blts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I've made this twice now. Turns out great! Thanks for the recipe. I do exactly as posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattimcdougal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Very good, nice light loaves. This was one of the best recipes I've made. I've been baking bread 10 + years now and this is almost the perfect white bread. It is wonderful. My kids and hubby love it so much I'm lucky if I get any. I followed the recipe exactly and only changed the oven temp to 375 and cooked about 5-10 minutes longer. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
This bread is delicious. Tastes a lot like french bread. I halve the ingredients and use it in my bread maker. I even made it using the timer. To do this, I used dehydrated milk and put the ingredients in order so the dehydrated milk wouldn't touch the water until the mixing began. (Same thing with yeast).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States