Perfect White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 23, 2008
This is essentially the recipe my mom always made when I was small, and the one I've gone back to after trying a half dozen others. Nothing else comes close! The slight tweaks I've made are as follows: I always proof the yeast first in the warm water by adding a generous pinch of sugar and letting it sit for 10 minutes. Seems to get a better result - maybe it wakes the yeast up? Secondly, instead of shortening I use melted and cooled butter. Finally, I mix in five cups of flour to the dough, then mix the final cup in during the kneading process (the dough will start out fairly sticky). Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I must say...one of the best recipes for white bread I have come across, and YUM! Really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Pieske

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Belfast, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I have tried several recipes that were not so great... but this one was amazing! It tasted amazing and looked amazing. I also followed the advise to bake it at a lower temperature and leave the bread in during preheating.... Great Recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
Simply amazing! I cooked the loafs for 35 minutes at 375 degrees. The recipe doesn't need to be changed at all, perfect the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alli G.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I loved this recipe and it gave me great confidence in my baking cause it turns out perfect each time. 4 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
I am 54 years old, have made my own bread for over 30 years; very few times could I eat my breads like the store bought bread, either too dry, or too chewy, or too crumbly. I made this recipe and used a preheated 375 degree oven, I pulled it out when the internal temperature was 210 degrees, let it cool overnight, thin sliced it and made toast for breakfast. Like the name says, it was perfect. All other white bread recipes are now in the trash! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manteno, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I've made other types of breads before (like sweet breads/rolls and pizza crusts), but this is my first attempt at an everyday loaf of plain bread... and I've gotta say, this is fantastic! I used just shy of the entire 6 cups of flour, and it came out perfectly. Like another reviewer, though, after the second 1 hour raise, during which I left the rising dough in the oven (off, of course), I turned the oven on, just leaving it in there, to 375F. I baked for approximately 28 minutes, and it was perfectly cooked. I'll be making this a LOT more! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UHElle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
This is by far the best bread I have ever made. So simple, but so good! Caution on the milk, bring to a boil only to the point where there are "bubbles" around the edge of the pot, otherwise you destroy the enzymes. Thank you so much for such a good bread recipe, I am sure my waist will love it as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2007
Awsome right out of the oven and with butter. Makes great blts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Fort Hood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I've made this twice now. Turns out great! Thanks for the recipe. I do exactly as posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pattimcdougal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States