Perfect Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
Just a quick tip on how to brine a turkey, especially when your fridge is full of other holiday goodies! Ive done it this way for a few years now, and it works great. Instead of soaking in the stock pot overnight, I put the turkey & brine mixture in a oven bag, squeeze out the air, and tie it shut. Put the bagged turkey in a cooler with ice overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1963 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redamber

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenmare, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This really does make the juiciest turkey. Cooks Illustrated magazine recommends letting the turkey sit in the refrigerator for several hours uncovered after rinsing off the brine, so that the skin will brown and crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1581 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I loved this recipe when I made it last year for Christmas, but I have a question...when I turned the bird 2/3 through cooking it fell apart. Does anyone know why? Did I cook it too long?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
968 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
This is outrageous. My husband was a serious skeptic of the brining process... until carving time came. I'm amazed the bird made it to the table! Absolutely amazing. *Definitely* use more vegetables. Especially carrots. I added a smidge of wine to the gravy I made from the drippings and it set it off perfectly. Definitely the best gravy we've ever had -- which we didn't even need with such a moist, delicious turkey! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
593 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
I highly recommend this turkey recipe! Made it for Thanksgiving and it's the best one and the easiest that I've used. The brining makes the turkey superbly moist and flavourful. I used aluminium foil to cover it for 2/3 of the cooking time. The vegetables outside the turkey were too oily for my family's taste, and the stuffed vegetables were still very crunchy. I will boil the stuffed vegetables first next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
289 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Had to downsize recipe since I only had a 12lb turkey. This is the only way I will do turkey from now on. I changed it slightly by stuffing the turky with chopped apples instead of the veggies and put all the veggies in the pan. Also added double the amount of white wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
fantastic!!! i will never make a turkey another way again!!! The veggies were awesome! I was so nervous to flip the turkey cause I was by myself!!, but I have a tip...take 2 pot holders and put them in freezer ziplock bags. put your hands in the bags, grab the bird and flip!!! it was sooooooo easy...i didn't even burn myself...lol!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
282 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This was the moistest turkey I have ever had in my entire life. It was gone as fast as lighting. I did not have the wine on hand so I substituted it out with chicken broth. It was great, so favorful and juicy. Great recipe!!! Kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
223 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I have used this recipe for 3 years...it always comes out succulent. Even the leftovers are moist days later. I double up oven baking bags to brine overnight in the fridge. (I don't use the oven bags to cook in though.) The meat isn't salty, so don't be afraid to use the full amount of kosher salt. I do flip the bird breast up at the end like the recipe calls for. I follow the recipe with a few tweaks...I add lots of fresh sage inside the cavity (thyme is good but sage smells and tastes like Thanksgiving to me) & sprinkle a little no-salt poultry seasoning on the outside. If I have some fresh yams & apples, I'll chunk up a couple inside the bird too with the other veggies. Be sure to use a good wine that you'd drink. The gravy is to die for. I pureed some of the carrots, onions & celery separately (use a hand blender if you have one or make sure the veggies aren't hot if you use the blender....no apple or yams in the gravy puree) to add to the gravy drippings to taste. I use a grease separator for the drippings and make a roux out of a little of the fat from the top off the drippings to start of the gravy. Resting before you carve is really, really important. The juices go back into the meat. Make your gravy and bake your rolls while it's resting. That way you aren't tempted to carve too soon. The carcass, leftover veggies & drippings go straight into the pot for day-after Turkey Barley soup that my has become as much of a family tradition as the turkey dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
205 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
All I can say is OMG!! What a GREAT turkey!!! We enjoyed it for Chirstmas dinner and couldn't keep our guests from havinf seconds and thirds! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,015) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States