Perfect Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I am in my 50's and have gotten away with only having to make a couple of turkeys in my entire life. This really was PERFECT for a newbie, and in the simplicity of it. I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Round Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Worthington, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
First turkey i have ever made, best turkey i ever tasted. Turning the turkey on time was key. Made this at mother-in-laws, while turning turkey at the right time; the turkey "looked like a tv turkey". Later did the turkey at my mother's and turned it late, did not look as pretty. . . but tasted amazing. Everyone said this was the best turkey they have ever had. I was generous with butter and the wine and it seemed to work out well. However, turning the turkey sounds easy, was harder than I thought. It took two of us. . so good luck at that part. Beautiful turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
Most store bought turkeys today are already "brined". I skipped that step as my 12lb Butterball was already brined. I followed directions from there adding a bit of olive oil to the butter mixture. I diced half the veggies for cavity (I heated all diced veggies w/a bit of water in microwave for approx. 3 mins. to start the process) prior to adding to cavity and chopped the other half of veggies in "chunks" which were added to the outside of the turkey when I flipped it. Added fresh Rosemary & Thyme to the veggies as well as fresh garlic and a diced apple. I sprinkled a bit of adobe spice, salt, pepper, bay leaf over turkey and veggies. I didn't have white wine so I used dry red wine which turned out FABOULOUS. Roasted at 330 degrees 2 hours, then flipped and lightly covered with foil for the last hour. Took foil off and let top brown for another 10 mins. Turkey was already done! Placed (oh so moist turkey) on platter while I made the gravy in the roasting pan. Drained out fat from juices and poured all juice into another pot except approx.3tbs. Added a little cornstarch and let 3 tbls of juice thicken, threw in some sliced mushrooms and sautéed them for a few minutes then poured in a cup of the dry red wine and let alcohol simmer. After alcohol reduced, I added the remainder of the juice back to roasting pan (on stove top) and let it come to boil. Added salt and pepper to taste then mixed approx. 3tbls. of cornstarch w/cold water and slowly added to thicken. Family LOVED~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie'sKitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Hands down the best and easiest way to cook a turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Great recipe! We will definitely be keeping this for future reference! It was the hit of thanksgiving dinner. Next time we will use a cooler full of ice to brine the turkey, rather than the fridge. At first we put the turkey in two large garbage bags and added the brine but it wasn't very practical in the fridge. Thank you for the tastiest, juiciest and flavourful turkey recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lconroy41
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
This was my very first Thanksgiving turkey, and it didn't disappoint. I'm sure it would have been better if I'd have had the space in my refrigerator to fit a stock pot to brine it, but alas, such is apartment living. Nonetheless, this was delicious. My only complaint is that my mother (who is queen of gravy) and I had a hard time making gravy because of all of the butter that was in the drippings. A little bit too much for our liking but it didn't detract from the turkey. It was very pretty :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This is THE recipe for a PERFECT Turkey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reandeau

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
So simple. The turkey comes out of the oven super moist and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steven Thompson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Delicious! A very moist bird.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humble, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,063) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States