Perfect Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was seriously the best turkey I have ever made. I will NEVER use another recipe again. My family raved over how moist and juicy it was. I was sceptic at first about baking a turkey for 4hrs uncovered that it would dry out. Im glad I read the reviews and didnt cover i. I only used the kosher salt, butter, and white white. Due to the fact that I had so much other food I didnt need the additional veggies. And it still turned out amazing. I would give this recipe a million thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
Tried this recipe today and it came out excellent. The turkey was very moist after brining the turkey overnight. I did cut the salt in half and added 4 sprigs on thyme to the cavity of the bird. The vegetables the cooked inside the turkey tasted delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I don't think turkey gets any better than this! Excellent recipe. I used the onion and celery to make stuffing. I used Pinot Grigio wine-2 cups. The gravy was awesome, a little salty at first (maybe I didn't rinse my turkey enough after brining) but I added a potato and let it simmer until the potato was tender and it was perfect.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I tried this for the first time, the turkey was so good and juicy. Probably going to use this again next year. Happy Thanksgiving everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I have done this turkey for four years now. The first year I followed the recipe to the letter, I had never cooked a turkey before! I now have to cook the turkey every year no matter who's house we are at. I don't think I will ever try another recipe. Always a huge hit with whoever tries it. This turkey is always super moist and has a great flavor. I only made a few simple changes to the recipe. I added two cloves of garlic in the bird and two outside, just gave them a quick smash with the knife and added them to the other veggies. I fill the bottom of the roasting pan with wine until it touches the bird, it ensures there is enough liquid to make lots and lots of gravy. Like others I use a oven bag for the brining and toss it in a cooler with lots of ice for at least a day. Turning over the bird seems a little sketchy at first but like another reviewer here said, just put plastic bags over the oven mitts and you will have no problems. Not sure why you are still reading this and not trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Loved it! I used dried thyme and didn't brine the turkey, but it was yummy and we'll def make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TonyaD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boonville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Mooresville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This will be the 7th year I make this turkey. I don't use carrots as no one eats the veggie stuffing. i stuff the turkey as much as possible with spices, onions, and celery. I also pour the white wine over the turkey, not the veggies. I have always used white cooking wine, but this year I'll be trying a Sauvignon Blanc. I use a large stock pot with ice water for brine as I can't fit a turkey in water into my fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
The Thanksgiving turkey has always been my hubby's job... Not this year! Not after reading this recipe & reviews...going to give it a whirl. Can't wait til tomorrow so I can get it started, will let you know how it turns out! Whoot! I'm so happy that the hubby agreed to it!! Sounds Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LASorb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Firestone, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Last year I made this and it was a success. Some of my relatives do not like turkey due to the dryness. However, they thought it was very tasty. :) Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by enjoylisu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
I'm not sure why, but when I flipped the turkey ( which was very, very difficult to do), all the skin stuck. I have mad many, many turkeys that turn out great. I would suggest making this one WITHOUT flipping it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,070) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States