Perfect Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2003
Turkey came out superb using this method. I will cook it this way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2004
This really does make the juiciest turkey. Cooks Illustrated magazine recommends letting the turkey sit in the refrigerator for several hours uncovered after rinsing off the brine, so that the skin will brown and crisp up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1579 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Incredibly good! The breast was so moist! I will never cook a turkey the 'old' way again!! Also, at least triple the veggies...they are too delicious! Thanks Shelly for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This was a great Trukey recipe, however, I still don't know if turning the bird upside down was a key to the greatness or not. I concur, expect to use and eat more veggies. Try this, lift the skin and add fress herbs (rosemary, thyme and lemmon grass) and garlic between the skin and the meat. Also, rub butter and seasoning mixture below skin and inside cavity. Keep the salt very low, if any, since it can get very salty after all the other steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This was tender and flavorful and I will definitely use this recipe again, although I will be careful to rinse the salt more *thoroughly* from the turkey. The vegetables were not edible because they were so salty, and the drippings made a delicious gravy that bordered on being too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This is my second year making the turkey, and I tried this recipe. My husband thought it was soooo moist and flavorful. I did make a change, instead of white wine, I used olive oil and honey mixture. Turning the bird, give it such a beautiful color all round. Will be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This was without a doubt the best turkey I have ever cooked. I didn't have room in the fridge for a stockpot (the bird was 23 pounds) so I used a cooler, 2 bags of ice and covered all in water. It worked like a charm. Also increased the veggies as others had recommended. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I got married 4 months ago and volunteered to have Thanksgiving for both of our parents and siblings this year. For my first ever family dinner I used this recipe and it was PERFECT! Flipping the turkey was a little difficult, but we got it... and the turkey was beautiful! Maybe I can have holidays at my house more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
My family has brined the turkey for the last three years and it has turned out perfectly each time! This year, even after letting it sit and rest, there was so much juice coming out we had to place towels around the carving board! I also add about 3/4 of sugar to the brine water to help with the browning of the skin. This is the only way I will ever do a turkey. You've never had breast meat so moist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I have never made a turkey myself before. I bought one of those give away turkeys at the market. What a fabulous suprise! It was terrific. Added extra veggies as per others instructions and I was happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,014) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States