Perfect Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Hooray! This was a big hit. It was easy to do - except storing the turkey in the brine. I finally resorted to an oven bag to put the turkey & brine in and then placed all of that in a clean bucket. My gravy was salty and I tried to save it with a potato which helped. Still, not a big problem - I just warned everyone not to salt anything. The turkey was very moist!. I followed recipe exactly except I added some 1/2 cup of chicken broth I had left over that I didn't just want to throw out. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I used this recipe to make my very FIRST turkey this past Thanksgiving. It turned out excellent! I used a pre-brined turkey so I skipped the first few steps. Heavy poured on the wine and used extra FRESH thyme. I wish I could bottle the fragrance this turkey filled our house with! And the turkey turned out perfectly browned and juicy. Stellar recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnwalker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
This was a great recipe. I didn't change much. I didnt have enough space to cover the whole turkey in the brine so I put it in my crockpot in the fridge in an oven bag. In the morning I flipped it. It did spill though! Those oven bags dont work. I also ran out of Kosher salt so I used sea salt. Still tasted amazing!! Very juicy and super good. I stuffed it with baby carrots instead of regular carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I never review anything. THIS WAS AMAZING. And made me look like a star. I was so incredibly impressed with myself, but in reality all I did was follow the recipe. Only thing I did differently was substitute half the stock for Apple juice (used 2 cups of sea salt) and use fresh herds. IT WAS AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Just used this recipe for Thanksgiving and it produced some of the juiciest moist breast meat I have ever eaten. The only thing I did differently is that I roasted my turkey half the time breast down, the turned it halfway instead of 2/3rd. I also added more of each ingredient since I was roasting a 23 lb bird. Lastly, I roasted my turkey at 325°.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Made exactly as stated. Best turkey in years! 18 pounds worked well for 9 adults and 6 kids with plenty of leftovers. Herbs I used were fresh rosemary and sage along with poultry seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is THE BEST turkey recipe! I will never make my turkey another way! Moist, tender, flavorful, easy, just perfect! Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I was nervous about making my first turkey so I used this recipe. I got compliments from even the pickiest eater and they all commented on the juiciness of the meat. I didn't have it defrosted early enough to let it soak for 12 hours but it was still good for only having soaked it for 2 hours. I can't wait to try adding apples next time like other raters had suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharyberry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This ROCKS! Was my first time cooking Thanksgiving turkey and it completely blew away my friends. The turkey actually flaked on our plates and was sooo juicy! Heeeck yes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Wow! Easily the best turkey I've ever made. I had a 24.5 lb turkey so was really worried about the breast meat being dry since I knew I'd never be able to flip a bird that big. I cooked it breast side up the whole way. It was as moist, juicy and flavorful as you could want. Really didn't change anything else. I have used other brine recipes in the past, which had more flavorings in them but for whatever reason, this simpler one is the BEST by far. Oh, and my bird did not have a pop up timer and I ended up putting my regular meat thermometer in a bit late. It read 184 degrees in the thigh meat and I was so worried I had ruined it. Most guides say 165 degrees. But as I said, it was awesome! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 1,014) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States