Perfect Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
This recipe was so easy. It was also very, very good. The only thing I would change is to put more carrots around the turkey because they turned out so great we didn't have near enough to go around because everybody wanted more of them! Thanks for such a wonderful recipe. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
I was brave and tried this new turkey recipe with 24 quest coming for Thanksgiving dinner. It was a complete success. Everyone raved about it. It will now become my traditional turkey recipe. On a 23lb. turkey I used 2 1/3 cups of kosher salt. It was perfectly salted all the way thru. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This is definitely a five-star recipe. Very easy to make and absolutely the best turkey I've ever tasted-worth trying!!! It's even worth giving up the stuffing and the vegetables are delicious! We double the veggies so there's enough for a side dish. To cut down on the greasiness of the vegetables when using as a side dish, we also boil some plain veggies to mix together with the baked ones, still plenty of flavor but not as greasy. Also, when removing the veggies from the roasting pan we put them in a strainer over a pot to get most of the drippings out. We then use all the pan drippings mixed with a little flour and water to make a fabulous gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
This recipe was great. I have never had a turkey stuffed with anything other than the traditional bread stuffing. The vegetables were really good but because they were sitting in the turkey pan, they were a little oily for my taste. The meat was so juicy. TO the brine mixture, we added an orange peel, peppercorns, bay leaves and a few spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
This was a great Trukey recipe, however, I still don't know if turning the bird upside down was a key to the greatness or not. I concur, expect to use and eat more veggies. Try this, lift the skin and add fress herbs (rosemary, thyme and lemmon grass) and garlic between the skin and the meat. Also, rub butter and seasoning mixture below skin and inside cavity. Keep the salt very low, if any, since it can get very salty after all the other steps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This was tender and flavorful and I will definitely use this recipe again, although I will be careful to rinse the salt more *thoroughly* from the turkey. The vegetables were not edible because they were so salty, and the drippings made a delicious gravy that bordered on being too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
This is my second year making the turkey, and I tried this recipe. My husband thought it was soooo moist and flavorful. I did make a change, instead of white wine, I used olive oil and honey mixture. Turning the bird, give it such a beautiful color all round. Will be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
This was without a doubt the best turkey I have ever cooked. I didn't have room in the fridge for a stockpot (the bird was 23 pounds) so I used a cooler, 2 bags of ice and covered all in water. It worked like a charm. Also increased the veggies as others had recommended. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishopville, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
Incredibly good! The breast was so moist! I will never cook a turkey the 'old' way again!! Also, at least triple the veggies...they are too delicious! Thanks Shelly for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Mission, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I got married 4 months ago and volunteered to have Thanksgiving for both of our parents and siblings this year. For my first ever family dinner I used this recipe and it was PERFECT! Flipping the turkey was a little difficult, but we got it... and the turkey was beautiful! Maybe I can have holidays at my house more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,064) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States