Perfect Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by rbabyrolle
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I used a fresh 12 pound Butterball Turkey. Used this recipe plus some suggestions from reviewers. I did equal parts salt and sugar (1 cup each). I added garlic to the brine and also pepper. I rinsed the turkey and let it dry in the fridge a few hours before baking. I included green apples to the stuffed veggies. My mom uses the broth to make stuffing so cooked the turkey breast up and we completely wrapped the turkey to preserve the juice. We also added sage and poultry seasoning and didn't use cooking wine. The turkey was super juicy and everyone raved about it. I think the brine is key to keeping the breast juicy. I highly recommend the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Came out beautiful. Everyone said it was the best turkey they had ever eaten. It was gone by the next day. The only thing I would do differently the next time around would be putting some tin foil over the breast meat to keep it from sticking to the bottom of the pan. It did that and tore the skin off the breast, so I put some tin foil over it to keep the moisture in, but next time I would put the tin foil over the breast at the very beginning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mistyaqua

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
I was cooking during the night so I did not turn the turkey but otherwise it was great! Could have been a little more moist so I will make again and turn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Perfectly juicy turkey!The only thing I did any different was sprinkle the outside of the turkey with paprika. It was "falling off the bone" tender and juicy...my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanie Kidd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Nice and moist. Next time I will flip it a little earlier as my bird cooked faster than anticipated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
Very tasty. I brined the turkey overnight, drained then let it dry in the fridge for a few hours. In addition to the herbs I added some fresh sage I had on hand. I used a sauvingnon blanc wine and the gravy was much better than the "made ahead turkey gravy" recipe from this site. Cooking time was 3.5-ish hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Photo by Manny T
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I used roasting ties to keep it from falling apart when turning it over. The recipe is fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I crushed a whole garlic and added it to the brine. So glad I did because it gave it even more flavor. This is how I will do it every time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Goodeats
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I was nervous to host my husband's family for thanksgiving, and even more nervous to make a turkey for the first time. (Especially for a mother in law who is an amazing cook!). After dinner, I was informed that I made a terrible mistake, because I am now in charge of the turkey every year! Delicious! Fell right off the bone. I brined in an oven bag, paper towel dried the turkey and let it rest in the fridge a couple hours after rinsing to let the skin brown up. I used more veggies, and had surprising success flipping the bird(!) with oven mitts covered with ziplocks. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
pretty good! the best turkey i have ever made. i forgot to buy thyme so i used marjoram which worked out very well! i also added mushrooms and chopped garlic to the inside of my bird. make sure to soak the turkey in brine over night for maximum flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 1,080) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States