Perfect Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I crushed a whole garlic and added it to the brine. So glad I did because it gave it even more flavor. This is how I will do it every time now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Goodeats
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I was nervous to host my husband's family for thanksgiving, and even more nervous to make a turkey for the first time. (Especially for a mother in law who is an amazing cook!). After dinner, I was informed that I made a terrible mistake, because I am now in charge of the turkey every year! Delicious! Fell right off the bone. I brined in an oven bag, paper towel dried the turkey and let it rest in the fridge a couple hours after rinsing to let the skin brown up. I used more veggies, and had surprising success flipping the bird(!) with oven mitts covered with ziplocks. Thank you for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
pretty good! the best turkey i have ever made. i forgot to buy thyme so i used marjoram which worked out very well! i also added mushrooms and chopped garlic to the inside of my bird. make sure to soak the turkey in brine over night for maximum flavor :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLeo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I have used many techniques over the last 30 years, but this was by far the best. My family agreed who have had bagged, cheese clothed, etc. Only addition I made was to add oil to the basting butter. I also basted with the wonderful broth in the bottom of the roasting pan. I did add more wine when I turned her over as veggies were exposed. This was a 13 lb Butterball which had been brimed (according to the wrapper). I cooked for 3 1/2 hours, then let rest tented lightly with foil for 30 minutes. Now going to make turkey soup with the vegetable broth. Have about 4 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Mana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I used this recipe this year and my turkey was AMAZING. It was literally perfect.. I added a couple things like fresh sage, parsley, rosemary and a quarter of an apple to the cavity. I did not flip it, because presentation didn't matter. Juiciest turkey I've ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Everyone liked my turkey this year, however it was not as juicy as I expected it to be based on the other reviews. I followed the directions exactly, even flipping 2/3rds through. It was very good and I would make again, may try brining for 48 hours instead of 12 as Cooks Illustrated says that is the proper length for a turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah Holt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Township, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eshagirl005
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Turned out great! My in-laws came over and enjoyed every bite! I did substitute the wine for chicken stock and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
A wonderfully aromatic and succulent turkey. Made me feel like a culinary star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
This was my first year making a Turkey. I found this recipe and I am so happy that I did! I had a quick change in plans so I was not able to soak the turkey for 12 hours. I just rubbed the turkey in salt and I cleaned it. I then cleaned he turkey again and put very little salt on the outside and the inside. I had a 10 pound turkey so I ended up using a little less of the celery,onion and carrots. When the turkey had been in the oven for 3 1/2 hours I simply added more butter. I did not move the turkey at all. I let the turkey cook for about 4 1/2 hours and then did another light coat of butter. It was amazing! Everyone loved it and kept asking me for the recipe ! It was so juicy and tender and tasted great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Veronica
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
My husband is the cook in the house and was a bit unsure about me introducing this new turkey recipe. Let me tell you, it was just as the other reviewers said it would be, juicy and tasty! The whole family enjoyed it but the veggies around the turkey were covered in grease so they went to waste, uneaten, so I will do without them next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Rio Rancho, New Mexico, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 1,063) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

A Simply Perfect Roast Turkey

Take the guesswork out of preparing the perfect roast turkey.

Perfect Turkey

Make a perfect turkey, every time.

How to Cook a Turkey

See an easy, no-fail method to roast a juicy, golden-brown bird every time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States