Perfect Ten Baked Cod Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I knew I could trust this recipe because I prepare cod loins like this routinely with consistently excellent results. Cod is a mild, flaky white fish that is not expensive and is absolutely reliable in my experience (i.e., not fishy). Prepared this way it is tender, flaky and perfectly done, but obviously the cooking time will depend upon how thick your fish is. I have never added wine to the pan, however, and decided to give it a try. While I didn’t find it detracted from the dish, it didn’t add anything either – so I would say drink it instead. I used bread crumbs instead of “buttery round crackers,” as I generally don’t keep “buttery round crackers” (such as Ritz) on hand. I added enough melted butter to moisten the crumbs, along with fresh minced garlic, parsley and rosemary. (Yum) I gave the fish a little salt and pepper before topping with my seasoned bread crumbs, then popped it into the oven for 20 minutes. In other words, I skipped the two-step process directed in the recipe as I didn’t find it at all necessary. As it always is, this was delicious. I served it over wilted spinach, tho’ I would have loved it with some pasta with garlic and olive oil too. (I was disciplined tonight since Hubs is out of town) For those not confident making fish, this is a great choice. For those who ARE confident making fish, this is a great choice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
This was super simple and delicious! LOVED the buttery crumb topping and the wine really gave this a nice flavor. I thought this could use a bit of salt, but that's my personal preference. I forgot to add the green onions, but I'll try to remember to do that next time (not that it needed it, IMO). I will def be making this one again~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
This was an incredibly easy recipe, and the results were great. My husband, who doesn't usually like fish dishes thought it was really good. I did use Italian seasoned bread crumbs in place of the crackers, because I didn't have any crackers on hand, but they turned out fine. I would definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I've made this twice in the past 3 weeks, tweaked slightly to fit my tastes. I used italian bread crumbs instead of crackers, adding melted butter and garlic to taste. I omitted the wine, and made it even easier to prepare by skipping the 2 step process. I simply laid the cod in a buttered baking dish, sprinkled with a little lemon pepper, patted the breadcrumbs on top, then gave it a little squirt of lemon juice. Popped in the oven for 20 min and voila! Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
OK, found this recipe and tweaked it a bit to solve some of the problems that other people had mentioned. Here's how to kick up the flavor and get a less mushy texture.. I use a ream of whole wheat RITZ crackers.. crush them up, throw in a teaspoon of onion powder, teaspoon of garlic powder, 1/2 tsp fresh parsley, 1 tsp basil, and 1/2 tsp of oregano. Mix those all together,two dashes of salt, dash of black pepper. Next melt 2 tbsp of butter with 1/4 cup of SUTTER HOMES CHARDONAY (this is very important..don't use just any wine) in a small dish or measuring cup. I line my pan with foil, spray with a non stick cooking spray, put the fish down flat in the pan. Pour the melted wine/butter over the fish. Next evenly pour the breadcrumbs on top of the fish. Pat down lightly. Next you melt two tablespoons of butter, and drizzle evenly on top of the breadcrumbs. Lastly, sprinkle a little more black pepper and bake for 23 minutes at 400 degrees farenheit. This comes out perfect! No mush, nice and tender, flaky and VERY flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was very yummy and so easy! I used cooking spray instead of butter to coat my pan (healthier option). I had cod filets instead of loins, but 20 minutes was all it took. I didn't have fresh parsley on hand so I mixed dried parsley in with the cracker mixture. I added a minced clove of garlic too. I seasoned my cod filets with a little salt/pepper before adding the topping. I would recommend putting the topping on right away, and cooking the filets for a total 20 minutes uninterrupted. I think the topping would get a little crispier that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitkatclarkbar

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bristol, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Willimantic, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
The fish does, indeed, come out flaky and good. I saw another rating that used bread crumbs, so I did the same. Also, I substituted olive oil for the butter. The recipe has too many steps. I sprayed the pan, then drizzled with olive oil. Placed cod in pan, drizzled the cod with olive oil, sprinkled the crumbs on top, poured wine around cod, squeezed lemon on top of cod, baked for 15 minutes. Because we did not use the salty crackers, we noticed the fish needed salt. Will add salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
EXCELLENT! Prepared entire dish, then baked about 20-30 min. Added shredded Parmesan and green onion to the cracker mix. FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
My 8 yr old and I had fun in the kitchen together with this one. Due to a heart-healthy requirement for our family, we baked the cod in a olive oil sprayed pan. Then after the initial 10 min, we brushed it with the squeezed lemon and 2 T of butter then topped it with chive/garlic pita crackers. Twas DELICIOUS. Served with garlic frozen french beans sauteed with garlic and tomatoes. Also, new potatoes boiled then topped with olive oil and dill. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Nice simple and delicious. I substituted the crackers with an italian breadcrumb panko breadcrumb combo and substituted the wine with italian dressing. The panko gave it a nice crunch. My 2 yo and 1 yo boys were crazy for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Ten Baked Cod

A simple cracker crumb coating creates the ideal weeknight dinner.

Baked Dijon Salmon

A simple and delicious way to make fresh flavorful salmon in the oven.

Baked Tilapia Parmesan

The whole family will love this crispy baked fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States