Perfect Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
solid. good sushi rice is the key to a great experience. and this recipe works. recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This recipe is great for making sushi rolls. I have found that home made sushi is typically lousy and have always suspected that it is the rice which is lacking. This rice makes your sushi rolls taste restaurant quality and is absolutely terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joe McGonagle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I don't know whether something's up with the conversions, but scaling this recipe to metric for 500g of dry sushi rice the proportions are WAY out. I found this rice to be far too sweet, far too vinegary, and way overcooked. I've experimented, and have below shown the correct quantities for good sushi rice. The original (wrong) quantities are shown in brackets:- Rice: 500g (495g); Water: 950ml (900ml); Rice vinegar: 90ml (160ml); Vegetable oil: 0ml (20ml); White sugar: 30g (65g); Salt: 7g (8g). Instead of cooking on low for 20 mins, bring to the boil, cook on low for ten minutes, turn off the heat and stand with the lid on for another 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I thought this was great. I didn't use the oil. It could have used a bit more salt. I used it to make "Chirashi Sushi" (scatter sushi) and it was a big hit. My 12 year old daughter called it "her new favorite". Current wife didn't like the looks of it, then ate two whole plates (which she rarely does).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This recipe makes the perfect sushi rice. In addition to the posted ingredients, I added a tablespoon of fresh grated ginger to rice before adding the vinegar mixture. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was really good. I have never tried it before, nothing to compare it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I honestly didn't care much for this combination. Too vinegary and too sweet at the same time. I prepared it as directed and after tasting the rice once it cooled down I decided to make a new batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I use seasoned rice vinegar, so I didn't need to add the sugar or salt. The ratio of rice to water is perfect. The vegetable oil made the rice easier to spread onto the nori (seaweed). This sushi rice really is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This Sushi Rice was great! I did half the vinegar to 1/4 a cup as some of the other reviews had mentioned. This is defiantly my go to Sushi Rice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Way too much rice vinegar in my opinion. Next time I will reduce the rice vinegar to maybe 1/3 cup. Reduce the amount of rice vinegar and think this will be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karoline

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States