Perfect Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
this had a great ratio of ingredients! a good tip that i have about cooking sushi rice perfectly if you have a rice cooker is after rinsing your rice, put your hand flat on top of the rice and allow the water to fill until it just covers your hand. a japanese friend taught me that, and it has turned out perfectly every time, even when my husband does it, and he has much larger hands than I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
465 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This recipe has a good ratio of ingredients - I like my rice a bit on the vinegary side, I guess. The only changes I made were to cut out the oil and to add everything to the water in the beginning in stead of cooking the sugar/vinegar mixture seperately. This allows the flavors to really sink in, and it makes the whole process easier, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
310 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DaDoubleJs
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This is a great recipe for sushi rice. Instead of boiling the vinegar/sugar/ salt, I just put it in the microwave for about 1 minute. It comes out the same!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
270 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaDoubleJs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
The rice was cooked well, but it was way too sweet and vinegary for my taste. I could eat sushi rice for a meal, so I was pretty disappointed. I may try it again, but with much less vinegar and sugar. Other recipes that I've tried use a fraction of what this one calls for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FireMedicJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bourbonnais, Illinois, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This is really good!! I always use this rice recipe in my sushi rolls, and everyone raves about them I HIGHLY recommend this recipe if you are making sushi! (I just bought short-grain rice from my grocery store- they didn't have sushi rice, but I think it is pretty much the same thing. It worked out perfect for me.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~marie~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Good recipe. I used a rice cooker as well and I use 1 cup rice for 1 1/4 cup liquid ratio. If you use Kokuho Rose sushi rice you do not have to rinse before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
I used the suggestion of reviewer JamieS. She was right, it did turn out perfectly. I reduced the sugar and vinegar by a smidge, and cooked rice in a rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This was great. I agree it would have been to much vinegar. I did reduce the Vinegar to 1/3 cup and I tasted the rice as I was mixing in the liquid and stopped when it had the right flavor (I didnt use it all). Half of cooking is tasting as you go and this turned out beautifuly for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2008
Ah! Finally I can make sushi! If you don't make good rice, you don't have very good sushi and this is the first recipe that I have found that works for me! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
A few tips- if you're making a larger batch, omit the vegetable oil, and add some slices of orange and lemon, including the rind, to the vinegar mixture. You'll also want to add a piece of kelp, if you can find it (try an asian grocery store). Let that sit overnight so that the flavors can come out. A good grade of rice is medium grain California extra fancy sushi rice. When you mix the rice and vinegar mixture together, do it in a wooden bowl (unsealed) with a wooden rice paddle or wide spoon- this helps keep the moisture level in the rice perfect. If you're very into making sushi, there are traditional bowls made specifically for this, they look like the bottom part of a wooden barrel and have a metal band going around the side. You'll also want to pour the vinegar mixture over a spoon into the cooked rice so that it's sprinkled evenly, otherwise you'll end up with clumps of plain rice and this can make it difficult to spread the finished rice onto the nori (sushi seaweed).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States