Perfect Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This rice was awesome! Just like you get when you order sushi in a restaurant. I had to go to an oriental market to get the rice and it took alot of rinsing before the water was clear. I reduced the vinegar and by half and the sugar just a tad. I fixed the rice in my rice cooker and used another poster's trick of putting my hand on top of the rice and adding water until my hand was covered. It was the perfect amount of liquid. Wetting hands when mixing the cooled rice and liquid is essential. Use this rice when any recipe calls for rice balls of any kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I used this rice to make pulled pork sushi rolls, which were a big hit at my Luau. I did cut the vinegar and sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndejong765

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Absolutely perfect just the way it is written! Don't try to change the recipe, just follow it and you will love this sushi rice. Perfect sticky rice to roll with, this is the only recipe I use for our homemade sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crescent City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
great sushi rice recipe,the only thig I changed was the vinegar not the amount but I used falvored rice vinegar,the roasted garlic one for added flavor and everyone that has tried it loves it,even the ones that said they don't like sushi esp. my husband who at once said he didn't think sushi had much flavor (when he tried it when I ordered it out)but with the flavored rice vinegar he loves it and even comes home from work asking for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTLSFAW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Thanks Lucy! This is a perfect starting point for anyone making sushi! Your taste may vary (despite other commenters, I like the sugar right where it is!) and I find every time I try a new brand of rice wine vinegar, I need to adjust the amount. My local market has a dozen brands! Some brands HAVE SUGAR in them - especially if they say "sushi vinegar" so check the ingredients - you might be doubling up on the sugar. I add the salt to the rice water. I microwave the vinegar and sugar together for 30 seconds instead of using a kettle. I don't use oil but you must cut, toss, or spread out the rice as you drizzle the vinegar mixture into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This really is the perfect Sushi Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hodgson668

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wasaga Beach, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
Excellent mix of ingredients! The vegetable oil certainly helped to keep the rice moist so it is easier to spread the rice on the seaweed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2011
Thank you! This made for great sushi and sashimi. Molded wonderfully, and had the flavor that compliments sushi so well. I prefer a bit less sugar and vinegar though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I used this recipe for making sushi for the first time and it was pretty delicious! I tried to make it exactly like the recipe but I did lower the amount of vinegar. For my personal preference I would add even less vinegar. Overall this is a great go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beheeka
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
I have never made sushi before, so I didn't know what to expect. It turned out great! My teenage son said it was better than what he orders at our favorite restaurant. Thanks so much for the recipe... will be using this many, many more times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Odessa, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States