Perfect Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I had never made sushi before, and I used this for that first recipe. It turned out amazing! If I wouldn't have found this recipe, I don't think it would have been half as good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I have tried this recipe five times now and my rice turns out starchy and smeary every time despite rinsing the rice until water is clear/following all directions. I have investigated other sushi rice recipes on the internet and it seems the cooking time is too long with this recipe. In the other recipes there is no oil. I will not make this one again and would not recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMINMI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palos Hills, Illinois, USA
Living In: Gladstone, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
been trying to make good sushi rice for years. this is it. next time, will combine all ingredients,oil adds the right slickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Way too sweet and vinegary! I will not use this recipe again, or will cut down on the sugar and vinegar significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
We use Truvia and cut the oil in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Rice was sticky, but vinegar was very overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlexiaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Probably half the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I can't find any Rice vinegar in Brazil!! Can I substitute it for red vinegar?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This rice was awesome! Just like you get when you order sushi in a restaurant. I had to go to an oriental market to get the rice and it took alot of rinsing before the water was clear. I reduced the vinegar and by half and the sugar just a tad. I fixed the rice in my rice cooker and used another poster's trick of putting my hand on top of the rice and adding water until my hand was covered. It was the perfect amount of liquid. Wetting hands when mixing the cooled rice and liquid is essential. Use this rice when any recipe calls for rice balls of any kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I used this rice to make pulled pork sushi rolls, which were a big hit at my Luau. I did cut the vinegar and sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndejong765

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States