Perfect Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Way too sweet and vinegary! I will not use this recipe again, or will cut down on the sugar and vinegar significantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
We use Truvia and cut the oil in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Rice was sticky, but vinegar was very overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AlexiaG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Probably half the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gavin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I can't find any Rice vinegar in Brazil!! Can I substitute it for red vinegar?????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This rice was awesome! Just like you get when you order sushi in a restaurant. I had to go to an oriental market to get the rice and it took alot of rinsing before the water was clear. I reduced the vinegar and by half and the sugar just a tad. I fixed the rice in my rice cooker and used another poster's trick of putting my hand on top of the rice and adding water until my hand was covered. It was the perfect amount of liquid. Wetting hands when mixing the cooled rice and liquid is essential. Use this rice when any recipe calls for rice balls of any kind!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cabinluvn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bangor, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
I used this rice to make pulled pork sushi rolls, which were a big hit at my Luau. I did cut the vinegar and sugar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ndejong765

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Absolutely perfect just the way it is written! Don't try to change the recipe, just follow it and you will love this sushi rice. Perfect sticky rice to roll with, this is the only recipe I use for our homemade sushi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crescent City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
great sushi rice recipe,the only thig I changed was the vinegar not the amount but I used falvored rice vinegar,the roasted garlic one for added flavor and everyone that has tried it loves it,even the ones that said they don't like sushi esp. my husband who at once said he didn't think sushi had much flavor (when he tried it when I ordered it out)but with the flavored rice vinegar he loves it and even comes home from work asking for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTLSFAW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Thanks Lucy! This is a perfect starting point for anyone making sushi! Your taste may vary (despite other commenters, I like the sugar right where it is!) and I find every time I try a new brand of rice wine vinegar, I need to adjust the amount. My local market has a dozen brands! Some brands HAVE SUGAR in them - especially if they say "sushi vinegar" so check the ingredients - you might be doubling up on the sugar. I add the salt to the rice water. I microwave the vinegar and sugar together for 30 seconds instead of using a kettle. I don't use oil but you must cut, toss, or spread out the rice as you drizzle the vinegar mixture into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States