Perfect Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by e-giggle
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
The only thing I would amend with this recipe is to add the seasoning to taste. It will be a bit strong when you first add it, then mellow as it soaks in. I also make it in half batches since I'm the only sushi eater in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Yes, it was too much vinegar and sugar, but I adjusted it to my taste without adding all of it. Note: Glutinous white rice is NOT the same as sushi rice. The former is more opaque (almost cream coloured) and longer (or bigger grained) while the latter is more translucent white and shorter (or smaller grained).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by argus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Cham, Zug, Switzerland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
solid. good sushi rice is the key to a great experience. and this recipe works. recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This recipe is great for making sushi rolls. I have found that home made sushi is typically lousy and have always suspected that it is the rice which is lacking. This rice makes your sushi rolls taste restaurant quality and is absolutely terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I don't know whether something's up with the conversions, but scaling this recipe to metric for 500g of dry sushi rice the proportions are WAY out. I found this rice to be far too sweet, far too vinegary, and way overcooked. I've experimented, and have below shown the correct quantities for good sushi rice. The original (wrong) quantities are shown in brackets:- Rice: 500g (495g); Water: 950ml (900ml); Rice vinegar: 90ml (160ml); Vegetable oil: 0ml (20ml); White sugar: 30g (65g); Salt: 7g (8g). Instead of cooking on low for 20 mins, bring to the boil, cook on low for ten minutes, turn off the heat and stand with the lid on for another 10 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I thought this was great. I didn't use the oil. It could have used a bit more salt. I used it to make "Chirashi Sushi" (scatter sushi) and it was a big hit. My 12 year old daughter called it "her new favorite". Current wife didn't like the looks of it, then ate two whole plates (which she rarely does).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This recipe makes the perfect sushi rice. In addition to the posted ingredients, I added a tablespoon of fresh grated ginger to rice before adding the vinegar mixture. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This was really good. I have never tried it before, nothing to compare it to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I honestly didn't care much for this combination. Too vinegary and too sweet at the same time. I prepared it as directed and after tasting the rice once it cooled down I decided to make a new batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I use seasoned rice vinegar, so I didn't need to add the sugar or salt. The ratio of rice to water is perfect. The vegetable oil made the rice easier to spread onto the nori (seaweed). This sushi rice really is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by always_hungry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Charleston, South Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States