Perfect Sushi Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This rice tasted great, but was a little on the sweet side. I'm not sure if it needed less sugar or just more salt to balance. Also, because I was making simple avocado rolls, I may not have had enough balance in my actual filling. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
way too sweet. Use 1/8 cup sugar. Otherwise it's good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
Tried it according to ingredients...came out way too saturated in rice vinegar. Tried again with half of the measurement and still came out terribly. Not sure what kind of sushi rice you're into but this was far from perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. SO SO SO much sugar. I don't believe sugar goes in sushi rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandon Copley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Too sweet as is. Very good otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
This rice is SO sweet and SO SO vinegary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandie Baker Van Dyke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. Too sweet and too much of a vinegar taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eddie Rios-Stroud

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
much too vinegary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Easy, good results, tasty. I used Agave syrup instead of sugar, just a little less than I would the sugar. It was lightly sweet, just tangy enough from the vinegar. I didn't need all 15 servings so first time I cut the recipe to 5, but I think that was too far. Better results with 10 servings this time. Quantities and time were in better harmony. One important tip (via unnecessary trial and error) is to NOT be nervous the rice will stick to the bottom when it gets into the last 5-10 minutes. Keep it on low, keep it covered and wait until the end. The rice dried out enough, steam helped, fluffed (for sushi rice) and was not gummy. And I didn't end up with a ruined pan bottom. First time I added more water and kept cooking it b/c I hadn't kept the lid on and turned it low enough, so the water kept disappearing. Second time's a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Rice turned out perfectly BUT it was way too sweet for me and my husband (and we eat a lot of sushi out). We're going to try again without the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sushi Rice

Discover the tricks to making perfect sushi rice.

How To Make Sushi Rice

Learn the best way to make sushi rice.

How to Make Perfect White Rice

Discover the simple tricks to making perfect rice without a rice cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States