Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
ive tried this and it tastes sooooo good!!! great job!! i luv it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
This is a great recipe; very easy to make and delicious! I followed the recipe to the letter and it came out perfectly - DO BE SURE TO LINE YOUR BAKING PANS WITH PARCHMENT PAPER! In my enthusiasm, I forgot to line mine, and getting the cakes out in one piece was pretty tough. I would also suggest refrigerating the cake first - I didn't, and the crumbs came off into the frosting, which doesn't make for the best presentation. It also took EXACTLY thirty minutes for the cakes to bake - be sure to keep an eye on them, particularly if you have a temperamental oven, as I do. Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beatrice
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Good Flavor, Easy Preparation. The frosting needed to be spread a little thin to cover 2 layers and sides. But there was plenty of chocolate drizzle to have easily covered both layers. We preferred the texture and flavor of a room temperature slice vs. a refrigerated slice that had been served. Next time we plan to make more of the frosting, as there will definitely be many more next times. Don't forget to stir the flour/sugar mixture before adding the stout mix as it helps to prevent flour lumps in your batter. Happy Baking : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beatrice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
Really good! I followed the directions, though I needed 4T of irish cream to get the frosting smooth enough. I brought it to work this morning and have gotten so many compliments on how it looks AND tastes! You taste the hint of stout and irish cream, but it is in no way boozy. Also, it is very moist, without being too heavy. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Made this for work yesterday and everyone went wild! It was gone in seconds and I had many requests for recipes. I was out of Bailey's so I used a Carmel Mocha Liquer instead and added a drizzle of caramel syrup across the top (the squeeze stuff you get at Starbucks!). YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Great cake but it ended up way too sweet...less icing (maybe just single layer next time) and half the chocolate sauce made with half the chocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Happy St. Patrick's Day to me! This was a great cake! I melted my butter in the microwave then whisked in the beer (then zapped it for a couple more seconds) instead of melting in a saucepan - faster, I think. I also chose not to make the chocolate drizzle...thought it would be a bit too sweet for my taste. Just with the butter frosting its fantastic! Next time I will double the butter frosting - or at least 1 1/2 times. As is it barely covered the cake (guess if I would have done the chocolate drizzle it would have been enough). At any rate! GREAT! Thanks for posting it for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
I served this at a St. Patty's Day party and it was a HUGE hit!! Instead of using 2 9-inch cake pans, I used 2 8-9 inch square glass pans and it came out just right after 30 mins. Also, instead of stacking the cakes, I frosted them separately and severed them as 2 cakes. It went further and the pieces were big enough. (Both cakes feed 20-24 people). If you are going to make 2 cakes, make extra frosting. I doubled the frosting recipes and had left overs. I added more Bailey's to the white frosting since the recipe was a little too thick to spread. At the end of the evening, everyone requested a copy of the recipe. THAT'S how I know it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
Wow!! Such a beautiful and flavorful cake! The flavor of the Guinness in the chocolate cake was VERY nice; added a noticable complex taste in every bite, yet not too overpowering or boozey. The Irish cream icing is very sweet, so the bittersweet drizzle is a good balance in taste. (I put the chocolate drizzle in a ziploc bag and piped it out. Gave more control over the look, I thought) Very decadent cake! All who had it loved it and I will certainly make this again and again...maybe cupcakes next time? Only one piece left...trying to savor it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
could not find anybody who didnt love this cake . very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States