Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I wish I had taken pictures of this cake! I made this for my favorite bartender's birthday this past year who's also very proud of his Irish heritage. It looked amazing, and when the cake was divided up to all the regulars at our bar - everyone agreed it tasted phenomenal! I can now no longer go into my favorite bar without being asked when I'll be baking my next cake! In fact, the husband just asked what I was doing - I told him I was reviewing this cake real quick and he asked me when I'm making it again! A lot of work, but so worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krueger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Excellent! I lost my original recipe for a chocolate stout cake, and this one was the closest I could find to what I (mostly) remembered from my old recipe. I found the addition of the drizzled chocolate at the end to be unnecessary, as the frosting was the perfect compliment to the cake. To Kryssi_Bee who had an issue with the cake falling apart-it may have been your altitude/humidity affecting the ingredients & cook time. I've made this specific recipe twice now, and found that plenty of parchment paper (more than you really think you'll need), a good douse of cooking spray, and, allowing the cake to cool in the pans *on* the wire rack is the best way to keep it all together. Thanks for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Ohmygodsorich! Absolutely delicious, though. The only part I had issues with was the chocolate sauce at the end. It was really oily for some reason. It worked, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
I made this recipe into cupcakes and it was great. I filled each cupcake with the Bailey's buttercream and topped each with the chocolate ganache. They were a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stuphsstuff
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This was the first recipe I've found on this site where all the reviews said to follow the recipe *To The Letter* and it'll come out perfect. So I did. I've gone over and over the steps and I'm absolutely certain that I very carefully followed all the directions. No substitutions, no shortcuts. And this cake fell apart when I took it out of the pans and all but disintegrated when I tried to frost it. I'm so disappointed in thus recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
LOVED IT! Brought this cake to a family party and had almost none left afterward. Everyone was very impressed. My only complaint was the instruction to line the pans with parchment paper. This made my cakes quite misshapen. Next time, no parchment paper - but that's the only thing I'll change!! Sure to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Starsfan101
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I remade this cake and put up a picture. I didn't follow the instructions completely, hence the oversweetness the first time. However if you follow the instructions to the LETTER, this is the BEST chocolate cake my family has ever eaten. I don't use the parchment paper, but I used a flour based cooking spray (works and doesn't stick).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starsfan101

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
The best way to describe this cake? HMMM.... when you cut a piece of this you cannot use the word "slice". The only way to describe it is a "slab". The Guinness really adds a unique flavor to it and it is not overly sweet. It was moist, rich and dense. I may have added more Bailey's to the frosting than was called for, but I really like Bailey's :-). The amount of bittersweet chocolate needed is equal to 2 candy bars, but I ended up halving that and it was enough for me. I have never made a scratch cake because I was always a little intimidated by therecipes, but although it can look rather daunting it was really pretty easy, and I think even a beginner could make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
The very BEST chocolate (or any flavor for that matter) cake ever! Why save it just for St. Patty's Day? Even my husband, who is not a choc cake fan, loved it! Be ready for a rich & decadant treat that you will be craving for every day! This has replaced amaretto cake as our new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
This is by far the BEST cake I have ever made and I've made my fair share of cakes!! You MUST try it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States