Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Everyone loved this cake. It didn't come out as expected but was delicious. The cake came out a little dry in my opinion so next time I'll will bake for less the the recommended time for my oven. Also my chocolate drizzle came out to thick to drizzle so I used as frosting came very rich and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Braithwaite
Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Made this cake for my St. Paddy's Day Birthday and everyone loved it. Husband says it's one of the best I've ever made. I followed the directions as posted and it turned out perfect. No problems removing or frosting the cakes as some mentioned. Put wax paper in the bottom of each pan, sprayed liberally with Pam, let cool 5 min. out of the oven, and cakes popped out perfectly. Cooled a bit longer and frosted nicely with no crumbling. May have cooled the chocolate a bit too long before frosting as mine didn't drip down the sides much but didn't matter. For those who thought the chocolate was too sweet, it may be from using the wrong kind. I used Ghiradelli 60% bittersweet chocolate, 2 4oz. bars, and it was the perfect balance with the sweet Irish Creme filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
WOW OH WOW!!!! Best chocolate cake EVER!!! So moist and decadent. Even non-Guinness-lovers will love the subtle complexity it gives to the chocolate. I will NOT be waiting until St. Patty's to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Delicious! I did bake this in a 9"x13" baking pan and left it in the pan. Cooled it, then frosted and ganached it. Turned out perfect and went to my son's business for St. Patrick's Day. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernice Dray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Happy St. Patrick's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MollyB
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
Wow. This was my first time ever making a cake from scratch and it turned out excellent! The recipe is really easy to follow. The one thing I would do differently is perhaps make the chocolate sauce a little soupier so it really "drizzled" or else maybe even skip it. The Baileys frosting is already so rich and yummy. Parchmont paper is key because the cake is so moist it is really sticky. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
It wasn't the best chocolate cake but still a very good cake...chocolaty with a hit of earthy tones from the Guinness. It was easy to make and came out tasty. I used 6 tblsp. of Baileys in the frosting but otherwise followed the recipe as is. Everyone at the St. Pats party seemed to enjoy the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deanna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I did this cake for an early St Patrick's day lunch and it went down a treat. I was a bit dubious that it would cook through when I saw how runny the mixture was but it produced a beautifully risen but very sticky cake. I don't like butter icing so I filled it with whipped cream mixed with melted chocolate and a little Baileys, trimmed the edge with vermicelli and topped it with confectioners sugar (with a shamrock motif). It was delish and we will be having it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Yorkshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Senija, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
OMG! This is the best chocolate cake i have ever made or tasted. and it is easy. i modified the frosting to sub 3/4 cup cocoa for 1 cup of the powdered sugar. this made a great chocolate baileys buttercream. when making as a whole cake, i skipped the ganache (the last part of the ingredients list) delicious without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
I wish I had taken pictures of this cake! I made this for my favorite bartender's birthday this past year who's also very proud of his Irish heritage. It looked amazing, and when the cake was divided up to all the regulars at our bar - everyone agreed it tasted phenomenal! I can now no longer go into my favorite bar without being asked when I'll be baking my next cake! In fact, the husband just asked what I was doing - I told him I was reviewing this cake real quick and he asked me when I'm making it again! A lot of work, but so worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krueger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States