Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Really delicious, half the people who ate it wanted the recipe! All I had was the mint bailey's, but it worked great - everyone enjoyed the slight hint of mint, and it went well with the St. patty's theme. Will definitely make again! The only change I made was to make a lot more frosting - twice as much, actually, which just covered my double layer round cake. And on the same note, there was twice as much chocolate mixture as needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kate
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
I used this recipe to make "carbomb cupcakes". The recipe as is was very good before my changes but the comments that follow are basically a how-to on this variation... Followed the measurements for the cake (added tsp vanilla) which produced two dozen cupcakes. Doubled the buttercream with Irish cream liqueur (adding about 7 TBSP in all). Next time I would use 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening since I prefer that combination. I added 2 TBSP of Jameson whiskey to the bittersweet ganache (reduced heavy cream by 2 TBSP to compensate). I was using the ganache just to drizzle on top of the frosting and had lots leftover. Next time I would half or quarter the ganache recipe. This time around I froze my leftovers. Also, the bittersweet was a nice balance to the sweet buttercream however you could not taste the Jameson. I intentionally added the whiskey at the end so it would not cook off. I think a better alternative would be to create a simple syrup out of the whiskey and drizzle that separately alongside the ganache. All in all I was very pleased with my initial results. The cake was very moist and rich with a dark flavor. Samplers couldn't detect the alcohol but very much enjoyed these treats. I'll be making again soon for a party and make work on a way to bring out more of the cocktail essence. Thank you Jowolf2 for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I made this cake for St Patrick's Day this year and loved it! I'm brand new at this baking thing (I usually just do betty crocker boxed cakes), but I thought this recipe was very easy to follow! I took the cake to work and everyone was so impressed! One thing I wouldn't recommend though - I tried putting a little green food coloring into the Bailey's frosting to make it more festive...and a lot of people were skeptical to eat it because they thought it was mint flavored. (I guess a lot of people don't care for that :P) When I make it again, i'll just leave all the colors alone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
This cake is delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. The only issue I had was that I did not let my cakes cool long enough before trying to stack and frost them...totally my fault. It didn't matter because everyone loved it. I recommend cutting small slices because this is a rich cake. The irish cream frosting is hard to stop "sampling" so consider yourself warned :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
this cake was amazing and was a big hit at the st. patrick's day party i brought it to. the only mixed reviews i got from people were some weren't fond of the irish cream frosting in between the cakes-it was too liquor-y for them. i would definitely re-make this cake again, maybe substituting the irish cream frosting with the chocolate one instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
I thought this was a fairly easy recipe to follow but I skipped the chocolate drizzle part to save time. I'm not sure why but my cake was a bit dry which puzzled me....I will make this again and give it another shot because what's not to like about chocolate and Guinness and Bailey's? LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily M.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Everyone loved this cake. It didn't come out as expected but was delicious. The cake came out a little dry in my opinion so next time I'll will bake for less the the recommended time for my oven. Also my chocolate drizzle came out to thick to drizzle so I used as frosting came very rich and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth Braithwaite
Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Made this cake for my St. Paddy's Day Birthday and everyone loved it. Husband says it's one of the best I've ever made. I followed the directions as posted and it turned out perfect. No problems removing or frosting the cakes as some mentioned. Put wax paper in the bottom of each pan, sprayed liberally with Pam, let cool 5 min. out of the oven, and cakes popped out perfectly. Cooled a bit longer and frosted nicely with no crumbling. May have cooled the chocolate a bit too long before frosting as mine didn't drip down the sides much but didn't matter. For those who thought the chocolate was too sweet, it may be from using the wrong kind. I used Ghiradelli 60% bittersweet chocolate, 2 4oz. bars, and it was the perfect balance with the sweet Irish Creme filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
WOW OH WOW!!!! Best chocolate cake EVER!!! So moist and decadent. Even non-Guinness-lovers will love the subtle complexity it gives to the chocolate. I will NOT be waiting until St. Patty's to make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Delicious! I did bake this in a 9"x13" baking pan and left it in the pan. Cooled it, then frosted and ganached it. Turned out perfect and went to my son's business for St. Patrick's Day. Everyone loved it and wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States