Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by love2cook
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
Very good, big hit at work! I used a bundt pan, cooked it about an hour, and made my own Irish Cream/Whiskey glaze rather than a full-blown frosting - and it was yummy! Pic posted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I made this cake but used the frosting from another Guinness cake recipe on here because I wanted chocolate frosting. Cake was very tasty and moist. Unfortunately, I didn't have parchment paper so I used crisco and flour on the pans, they stuck and fell apart. Cake is very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This is the second year I have made these. They were a hit last year but I did not fill them with the ganache. This year I did and took dessert to a friends house last night, they ooed and awed over them. Rave reviews. I am serving them today after our corned beef and cabbabe with family. They are not a "quick" dessert to make but well worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
These are pretty good. Moist but there are several other chocolate cake recipes that are so much better. Did not use choc. glaze, made 22 cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Daisy K
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I made this recipe into cupcakes and goodness they were SO good! I dipped the tops of each cupcake in the ganache and let it dry for a bit before icing them. I used 3 T. Bailey's plus 1 T. water for the icing. I don't really like butter icing so I did half butter and half shortening. Everyone raved about these and I have already been asked to make them again! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daisy K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Valley Center, Kansas, USA
Photo by SaraBakesWA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
I had someone request guinness cake so I tried this recipe and loooove it. Definitely keeping this one. I made it into cupcakes since people seem to dismiss the guilt of indulging in sugary sin when it's served in paper cups. I was pleasantly surprised to discover the recipe was easily enough for 24 cupcakes. I personally don't care for frosting much so for me the two seemed a little much. I followed the suggestion of a another brilliant review and substituted 1 c powdered sugar for 3/4 c. Cocoa powder for the frosting and skipped the ganache/drizzle/whatever that stuff was. It was awesome! Although I ended up doubling it added a couple tablespoons of whipped cream, just enough to bring it to a lighter consistency for piping. I checked them after 15 mins and took them out shortly after. As cupcakes, they DO NOT need 30 mins! These changes made these little guys scrumptious and exactly what I was looking for (but the original recipe is great as it is). Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaraBakesWA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2012
Who'd ever guess that a recipe for chocolate cake that uses Guinness would turn out to be the best darned chocolate cake I've ever tasted?? Who says you can't teach an old dog new tricks? From here on, I'm going to keep a bottle of Guinness in the fridge, and I detest beer of any kind! This is now my go-to chocolate cake recipe. And that's no faint praise, coming from a pastry chef of many years! The stout really complements and rounds out the flavor of the chocolate, plus lends a lovely reddish hue. You never taste it, but it's there, lending its incomparable support to the star of the show (chocolate.) This cake is blow-your-socks-off good, incomparably moist with a very fine, tender crumb. I spiked the ganache with a Tb of Jameson's Irish Whiskey. I cut the centers out of each cupcake (mmmm...chocolate cake scraps to eat!) and filled the holes with the ganache, opting to use it as a filling rather than as a drizzle. I doubled the amount of Irish Cream in the frosting, as well. Served to ooohs, aaahs, moans, groans, swoons, and general paroxysms of pleasure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Might be the best cake ever haha and way easier to make than I thought it would be!! Almost half my office asked for the recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
This cake is amazing; very rich chocolate and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kaiser

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Made cupcakes for my office. Everyone loved them. Will make next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States