Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
Awesome cake! I made this recipe, exactly as written, to top off my St. Paddy's day menu. The chocolate cake, in my opinion, is absolutely perfect! I will probably use this recipe in the future either with or without the Bailey's frosting. Speaking of the frosting... I followed the directions and topped each layer cake with the frosting and then poured the chocolate ganache over the top of it all. Overall, this was a fantastic cake, but unnecessarily overly sweet. Next time I will only put the frosting in between the two layers and just the ganache over the top. I also had a problem getting the ganache to a good "pouring" consistency as written so I'll have to re-evaluate that part of the recipe the next time I make it - and there will be a next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2015
Made this cake for st pattys day and even thou my famiily are not big sweet eaters they devoured it. Since there were only a few of us I made half the recipe and baked it in a 8X9 square pan. I eliminated the whipped cream topping and frosted it with the Baileys frosting. This is one of the best cakes I have ever had and just perfect for St Patricks Day! Will definately make this again. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MelShark
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
Just made this cake for my daughter's 19th birthday. Everyone loved it! I have made cake with beer before, but had never used Bailey's. Wow! That really made the cake wonderful. I did the old fashioned thing and used crisco and flour for the pans and the cakes came out with any sticking. Cooked exactly 30 minutes and cooled for 5 minutes before removing from pans. I used a good amount of the frosting in the center of the cake, so I could only cover the top and down 1/2 the sides. If you want to cover the whole cake, cut back on the center filling or make 1 1/2 recipe. I also had a ton of ganache left over (which I won't complain about) but you could cut that part down if you wanted. We are defnitiely going to make again, but I think we will try what others suggested and make the cupcakes. In theory, that will keep us from eating such a huge piece of cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made this for y girlfriend's birthday party and it was a big hit. I increased the frosting recipe by 1 1/2 to frost middle, top and sides and that was the perfect amount. I will cut the ganache recipe in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Awesome St. Patty's cake! Didn't feel like buying a lot of Irish Cream liqueur so I just bought the Bailey's Irish cream coffee creamer and used 3 T of that--perfecto! I did make extra icing and was glad I did--helped the look of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This cake is wonderful. Next time I would make a double batch of the icing, it is so good. And half of the chocolate to drizzle over for decoration. If I made cupcakes, I would fill with the icing mixture, lightly ice the tops, then drizzle chocolate over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
The family enjoyed this cake, so I'll make it again. I followed the recipe, except for when I made the frosting, I was concerned it wasn't enough. So I added another cup of powdered sugar, 1/4 cup of butter and 2 TBS of heavy cream to the frosting mixture and it turned out fine. Oh...and the ganache...I only had four oz of bittersweet chocolate so I mixed it with the same amount of butter and heavy cream and it turned out fine. (with a lot left over for some other sweet thing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This cake is delicious and not hard to make - perfect ending to our St. Patty's Dinner - Deb M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This cake was amazing! Very moist with great chocolate flavor. I used the entire 8oz of sour cream by mistake, but the cake was moist and delicious and firm so it wasn't a problem. I also used extra baileys in the frosting for a better spreading consistency. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl66
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
A chocoholic heaven. Should have made more Irish cream frosting. I added cream to frosting to alter the consistency a little. Chocolate ganache is to delicious. Next time will cut 8" cakes I'm half to make 4 layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vincentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States