Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I made this for y girlfriend's birthday party and it was a big hit. I increased the frosting recipe by 1 1/2 to frost middle, top and sides and that was the perfect amount. I will cut the ganache recipe in half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Awesome St. Patty's cake! Didn't feel like buying a lot of Irish Cream liqueur so I just bought the Bailey's Irish cream coffee creamer and used 3 T of that--perfecto! I did make extra icing and was glad I did--helped the look of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
This cake is wonderful. Next time I would make a double batch of the icing, it is so good. And half of the chocolate to drizzle over for decoration. If I made cupcakes, I would fill with the icing mixture, lightly ice the tops, then drizzle chocolate over the top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
The family enjoyed this cake, so I'll make it again. I followed the recipe, except for when I made the frosting, I was concerned it wasn't enough. So I added another cup of powdered sugar, 1/4 cup of butter and 2 TBS of heavy cream to the frosting mixture and it turned out fine. Oh...and the ganache...I only had four oz of bittersweet chocolate so I mixed it with the same amount of butter and heavy cream and it turned out fine. (with a lot left over for some other sweet thing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by David

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This cake is delicious and not hard to make - perfect ending to our St. Patty's Dinner - Deb M
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
This cake was amazing! Very moist with great chocolate flavor. I used the entire 8oz of sour cream by mistake, but the cake was moist and delicious and firm so it wasn't a problem. I also used extra baileys in the frosting for a better spreading consistency. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DiamondGirl66
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
A chocoholic heaven. Should have made more Irish cream frosting. I added cream to frosting to alter the consistency a little. Chocolate ganache is to delicious. Next time will cut 8" cakes I'm half to make 4 layers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Medford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vincentown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I found the chocolate cake moist, decadent and delicious...I added two tablespoons more of the Baileys and fell in love with the flavor, but, I will cut the chocolate in half for the top and just drizzle it onto in a pattern, perhaps a spider web..so much chocolate took away from the flavor of the cake itself and also that yummy icing..easy to make and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAN13
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I loved the cake, but I'm only rating it four stars because the amount of frosting as written is hardly enough to cover both cakes. Double the frosting and it's a 5-star recipe. I used more Baileys than the recipe calls for, but that's just a personal preference. Also, I ended up having to use half bittersweet chocolate and half semisweet on the ganache because that's what I had on hand. I would recommend doing this; that way the ganache is slightly sweet and not bitter. For those who said they skipped the ganache - you're missing out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This cake is THE BOMB!! VERY chocolatey, moist, rich cake, scrumptious Bailey's icing. The only thing I might do differently next time is make a little more of the icing so I could frost the sides, and cut back on the ganache, as I didn't end up using all of it. A huge hit with my hard-to-please hubby - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect St. Patrick's Day Cake

Stout and Irish cream liqueur flavor this dense chocolate cake.

Diana's Guinness® Chocolate Cake

An ultra dark, ultra rich chocolate cake with a luscious chocolate icing.

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States