Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Really great. I stir fried some broccoli and cabbage, and put down rice, then veggies, then chicken, then sauce--worked out great (had to stretch for company). Couple adjustments I made based on what I had in the house--I used rice vinegar instead of white, and a bit less sugar, because a cup scared me a bit. WIth everything else though, I think a cup would be fine. Really great--thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This is a great recipe. The kids and I made it togeather. They love sesame chicken and loved this recipe. We reduced to sugar by 1/4 and the chili paste by 1/2. We still got the great flavors but with less spice. I was going to take a picture of it but there was none left for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Spectacular recipe. The consistency of the sauce is excellent, and the chile paste gives it a subtle kick. If you like it spicy (as I do) you can up the chile paste a little bit, but not too much. "This is better than the sesame chicken I've had at most chinese restaurants." - My roommate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This sesame chicken lives up to its name. I'm glad I tried it. My daughter always orders sesame chicken when we order chinese and she loved this. One mistake I made was not using the whole cup of sugar called for. I followed another reviewers advice and cut back to 2/3 cup. It was not sweet enough and I think the full cup would have been perfect. Note that if you use the full amount of cornstarch for the sauce it is very thick. I think half the amount would have been enough. Also, it was not spicy at all with a tsp of chili paste to if you like it spicy I would suggest using more. I did add some steamed broccoli which tasted great with the sauce as well. I look forward to making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This recipe is truly a high quality restaurant style meal. I reduced the sugar to 3/4 C. and I added 2 tsps. of chile paste because we like a little heat. I took the advice of other reviewers and used peanut oil- which has a high smoking temperature, and is more traditional in Chinese cooking. I served it withe steamed broccoli and white rice, which the sauce tasted great over. Although it is a little time consuming it tasted alot better than Chinese takeout. My 2 year old loved it, and so did my husband- he wanted to know if there were seconds!!This recipe is definitely going in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sparkybuddy56
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
All I can say is that this recipe was AWESOME!!! I also used 3/4 cup of sugar and instead of using chili paste, I used 1/2 teaspoon chili powder. Also, I'm allergic to gluten, so I used rice flour instead of all-purpose flour, and I used gluten free soy sauce. This was absolutely FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkybuddy56

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
OH MY GOSH....THIS WAS AMAZING!!! I'm not trying to toot my own horn or anything but this is the best sesame chicken that I've ever had (and I've had a lot). I used 3/4 cup of brown sugar, 1 1/2 cup olive oil and followed the rest of the recipe to a T. I used the corn starch mix to my preferred thickness. Served dish with broccoli and white rice. My fiance just went off to work to brag how great a chef I am! SO EASY! If your batter stuck to the pan, you might want to leave chicken in fridge longer before frying and make sure your oil is hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This recipe was excellent! I only ate Sesame chicken once before this recipe, and it was when I decided that I need to make it at home. I searched for recipes for it, and this recipe on the site resembled the sesame chicken I had had before. I must agree with some of the users though: I cut back on the amount of sugar, and added a LOT more pepper (we like hot food at my house). I also lightly seasoned my chicken before adding the batter to it (the batter, by the way, fries up the chicken so the outside is really crisp and the inside is moist and tender--it's even perfect on it's own!). Overall, it is a recipe I will DEFINITELY be making again, mark my words!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
This was great. Even better than take out. I steamed some broccoli and added it to the chcken before pouring on the sauce. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I made this recipe and reduced the sugar to 3/4 c. and used 1 tsp. chili powder in place of the chile paste {which was unavailable at our store} and it turned out perfect. My guys are picky and they complimented me on this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Karnes City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States