Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
To cut down on fat, I baked rather than fried this chicken, and it was still to die for! I followed all directions except when it came time to put them in the olive oil, I put them on my stoneware pan with all the marinade (which made for a nice breading) drizzled 1/4 olive oil over top, and baked at 375 for 47 minutes. I turned the chicken half way through baking. The dipping sauce thickened up just perfectly! I only used 1/2 cup of sugar and it was still plenty sweet. Thanks for a great recipe, my hubby loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
346 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
OH MY GOSH....THIS WAS AMAZING!!! I'm not trying to toot my own horn or anything but this is the best sesame chicken that I've ever had (and I've had a lot). I used 3/4 cup of brown sugar, 1 1/2 cup olive oil and followed the rest of the recipe to a T. I used the corn starch mix to my preferred thickness. Served dish with broccoli and white rice. My fiance just went off to work to brag how great a chef I am! SO EASY! If your batter stuck to the pan, you might want to leave chicken in fridge longer before frying and make sure your oil is hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
I made this tonight for my husbands birthday. I got rave reviews from everyone, including the MIL! I cut the sugar down to 1/3 cup and to be honest, it could have been 1/4 or under even. It was just awesome, the flavor outstanding. I didn't dump the entire slurry of cornstarch/water, but kept adding until I was satisfied with the thickness, definitely did not use it all. I think that is just a preference type of thing. I will be making this many more times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
154 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
Even my picky teen-agers ate this and said it tasted like it came from a restaurant. I took the suggestions and used brown sugar and rice vinegar. I used a whole can of chicken broth and mixed 1/3 C cold water and 3 T cornstarch to add to the sauce to thicken it. I eliminated the sesame oil and sherry because we don't care for those flavors. I served the sauce on the side. I made steamed broccoli, snow peas, and served it with Jasmine rice. Truly a restaurance quality recipe! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I was very impressed with this batter. The chicken fried up with a shatteringly crisp crust and was moist inside. Unfortunately, as soon as the sauce was poured over it, that great crispness was lost. It made a nice presentation, but next time I'll serve the sauce on the side. I reduced the amount of sugar in the sauce to 3/4 of a cup, and 2/3 cup would probably work too. I only needed to use about 2/3 of the cornstarch slurry to thicken the sauce. I fried the chicken in a wok and used peanut oil instead of olive oil and I only used about 1 1/2 cups of oil instead of a quart. All-in-all this had a very good flavor and I'll make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Photo by Nandabear
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
It is a great recipe for sure. However we thought it was very sweet made as written. Even the kids agreed. I should have read the reviews. It turned out beautifully otherwise. It does make a lot of sauce so no need to double it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nandabear

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Recife, Pernambuco, Brazil
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Loved it!!I followed the recipe to the letter with the exception of frying in olive oil. I used my deep fryer that has vegetable oil in it. Had this few weeks ago from a restaurant and have been wanting it again ever since. The batter didn't heavily coat the chicken at all which was different from restaurant style but still very good. Sesame flavor was perfect. Served which a variation/combination of "House Fried Rice" and "Fried Rice I" from this sight which included some sesame oil as well. Excellent. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I used 1/8 cup Merlot instead of dry sherry, added red food coloring for appearance and, I deep fried it in corn oil. In the future I will decrease the sesame oil to 1 tablespoon instead of 2. All in all it was really good. I will definately make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Paris, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Baked, not fried! Like emilyjane928, I wanted to avoid deep frying. Slightly different approach...I coated a baking sheet with 2T olive oil, then spread the chicken (straight from fridge) onto the sheet and baked at 400 degrees for 15 min. Then turned the chicken and poured the hot sauce over the top, returned to oven for another 10-15 min. Great reviews from family!!! Also...only used 1/2 c sugar...will use another tsp chili paste next time to kick up the heat. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
I made just the sauce and used it over sauteed green beans. I used a mixture of white rice vinegar and a dark Chinese rice vinegar (which has great flavor)--I'd definitely recommend something other than the distilled stuff--all that does is make food sour without adding much in the way of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 473) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States