Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
It's true! This was perfect! Thanks for a tasty & easy way to make something I love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I was very impressed with this batter. The chicken fried up with a shatteringly crisp crust and was moist inside. Unfortunately, as soon as the sauce was poured over it, that great crispness was lost. It made a nice presentation, but next time I'll serve the sauce on the side. I reduced the amount of sugar in the sauce to 3/4 of a cup, and 2/3 cup would probably work too. I only needed to use about 2/3 of the cornstarch slurry to thicken the sauce. I fried the chicken in a wok and used peanut oil instead of olive oil and I only used about 1 1/2 cups of oil instead of a quart. All-in-all this had a very good flavor and I'll make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
This saucce was awesome. I did add some minced ginger root and red pepper flakes, just becasue of personal preference. I'll definitely make it again. The coating on the chicken didn't turn out so well, however. Most of it managed to stick to the pan and what was left was kinda greasy. I'll keep experimenting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
Really great. I stir fried some broccoli and cabbage, and put down rice, then veggies, then chicken, then sauce--worked out great (had to stretch for company). Couple adjustments I made based on what I had in the house--I used rice vinegar instead of white, and a bit less sugar, because a cup scared me a bit. WIth everything else though, I think a cup would be fine. Really great--thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Spectacular recipe. The consistency of the sauce is excellent, and the chile paste gives it a subtle kick. If you like it spicy (as I do) you can up the chile paste a little bit, but not too much. "This is better than the sesame chicken I've had at most chinese restaurants." - My roommate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
This sesame chicken lives up to its name. I'm glad I tried it. My daughter always orders sesame chicken when we order chinese and she loved this. One mistake I made was not using the whole cup of sugar called for. I followed another reviewers advice and cut back to 2/3 cup. It was not sweet enough and I think the full cup would have been perfect. Note that if you use the full amount of cornstarch for the sauce it is very thick. I think half the amount would have been enough. Also, it was not spicy at all with a tsp of chili paste to if you like it spicy I would suggest using more. I did add some steamed broccoli which tasted great with the sauce as well. I look forward to making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Schenectady, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This recipe is truly a high quality restaurant style meal. I reduced the sugar to 3/4 C. and I added 2 tsps. of chile paste because we like a little heat. I took the advice of other reviewers and used peanut oil- which has a high smoking temperature, and is more traditional in Chinese cooking. I served it withe steamed broccoli and white rice, which the sauce tasted great over. Although it is a little time consuming it tasted alot better than Chinese takeout. My 2 year old loved it, and so did my husband- he wanted to know if there were seconds!!This recipe is definitely going in the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This recipe was excellent! I only ate Sesame chicken once before this recipe, and it was when I decided that I need to make it at home. I searched for recipes for it, and this recipe on the site resembled the sesame chicken I had had before. I must agree with some of the users though: I cut back on the amount of sugar, and added a LOT more pepper (we like hot food at my house). I also lightly seasoned my chicken before adding the batter to it (the batter, by the way, fries up the chicken so the outside is really crisp and the inside is moist and tender--it's even perfect on it's own!). Overall, it is a recipe I will DEFINITELY be making again, mark my words!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2008
This is a great recipe. The kids and I made it togeather. They love sesame chicken and loved this recipe. We reduced to sugar by 1/4 and the chili paste by 1/2. We still got the great flavors but with less spice. I was going to take a picture of it but there was none left for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sparkybuddy56
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
All I can say is that this recipe was AWESOME!!! I also used 3/4 cup of sugar and instead of using chili paste, I used 1/2 teaspoon chili powder. Also, I'm allergic to gluten, so I used rice flour instead of all-purpose flour, and I used gluten free soy sauce. This was absolutely FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkybuddy56

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 455) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy Kung Pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States