Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Just like at a restaurant! Amazing flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mrs.embee
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Three stars from my crew. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup and spread the sauce among nearly 2lbs of chicken. My sauce set a bit too much and the end result was nearing jelly in texture. The cooking method is great so if you are looking for a sweet main dish this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.embee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
Fantastic! Even though who were skeptical at first loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
I loved this recipe will definitely make it again. I used just the chicken breasts tho, I did not bread it, i let the breasts marinade in just the sauce for a half hour, i also used brown sugar instead of white. I did double the sauce up too because i added broccoli, green beans, onion, and squash. This is my new favorite sesame chicken!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
This was a fantastic recipe! Everyone needs to try this at least once! I made it for my family and I am only 16 year old and I could do this easily. Very user friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
Loved it, family loved it, better than the Chinese takeout we get. Will definitely make it again. I used peanut oil instead of olive oil. Other than that I kept everything that the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Delicious, my children loved it. They ask me to cook this dish on a regular basis. Thank you for sharing. -Maritza
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maritza Arroyo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Always my go-to Chinese food recipe. I dust the chicken pieces in extra flour and cornstarch before dropping them in to fry to make the pieces extra crispy. The chicken pieces also freeze really well for future quick dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I am just beginning to start cooking and found this recipe to be pretty helpful. HOWEVER! I changed up the recipe a bit. Instead of battering and frying the chicken, I used frozen chicken nuggets. (The breading helps the sauce stick to the chicken) As far as the sauce goes, I recomend using 3/4 cup of sugar, otherwise it's way too sweet. I also don't normally have chile paste lying around so I substituted the chile paste with a little less than a teaspoon of Masaman Curry Paste. (It comes in a blue container, I don't remember where it's from. The label said "Bright") Make sure all the ingredients are thoroughly mixed before you add the cornstarch that's dissolved in water. Then when the sauce and chicken are both done cooking, put all the chicken in a large bowl, pour the sauce on top of them and stir gently with a wooden spoon until all the chicken is covered with sauce. This recipe is best served over white or fried rice with a side of egg drop soup. :) I made it for my boyfriend, who's a picky eater, and he liked it a lot. It makes for a really good, relatively cheap dinner. (as compared to the price of take out)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
This is a pretty good recipe though I made a few changes: 1. I used flour instead of cornstarch for the sauce. I first made it with cornstarch and it had a disgusting consistency and a weird after-taste. I usually don't like cornstarch anyway and can taste it when it's in something. Two tablespoons of all-purpose flour worked just fine - I whisked it into the boiling sauce. 2. I added more garlic to the sauce and some fresh minced ginger. I would actually try adding even more garlic next time. Some people said the sauce was flat. I would suggest trying these things (including the flour instead of cornstarch). 3. I actually preferred the chicken when it was more brown and crispy. This required really hot fat. I don't know what temp though as don't have a thermometer or digital fryer. 4. I used less sugar than the recipe says for the sauce. Instead I used 1/2 cup of sugar and a 1/4 cup honey. Brown sugar might be even nicer than white. I'll try that next time. I also used normal soy sauce. 5. I used organic chicken. Much better than non-organic. Tastes cleaner, fresher, and less fatty. 6. Could do with some suggestions for what veg to serve this with. An asian broccoli side would be nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States