Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Loved this recipe!! My husband loved it, too, and he is very picky. I did make a few alterations. I followed the first review and halved the sugar. It turned out plenty sweet enough but I think next time I may even try using 1/4 cup sugar to make it a bit healthier. I think it would be just as good. I also chose not to deep fry it but rather baked it in the oven as the first review suggested and it turned out perfectly after 45 minutes at 375 degrees. I may try stir frying it in a wok next time to achieve some degree of crispiness. I didn't have corn starch on hand so I omitted it from the first step and used four mixed with water for the second step and it turned out just fine. I also used organic boneless skinless chicken thighs cubed in place of breast meat. All in all, a really scrumptious dinner served over white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I've been looking for a sesame chicken recipe for awhile now and I finally found it! After reading some of the reviews I cut the sugar to 1/2 a cup instead of a full cup. When I make this again I will add more sugar but not the full cup. I'd say that kind of depends on personal preference more than anything! The sauce came out a little thicker than I would like. I would recommend less cornstarch and water I think maybe 1/2 of what it says would be better. Also, instead of deep frying the chicken I pan fried it instead and it still turned out great. Will for sure be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Very good! Lots of work so would next time prepare chicken much earlier and let marinade. Also used canola oil better because it's better suited for high temp. This was as good if not better than anything we've had from a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I have a corn and wheat allergy so this is what I did.... Mmmm.... I boiled a chicken and just shredded the meat to use instead of frying meat. I used the broth from it also. I substituted equal parts tapioca starch for the corn starch, omitted the chili paste, used regular soy sauce, garlic powder instead of garlic, added the sherry it called for into the sauce. I used only half the sugar it called for and I used "sugar in the raw." I also added chopped green onions to it and served it over cooked, riced cauliflower.) Yum!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
very good! we changed the recipe a little, used brown sugar and less cornstarch. we also skipped the wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lindseyp

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This turned out to be one of the best tasting chicken recipes I've ever made. It was a bit labor intensive, but so worth it once you put that first piece of sweet sesame chicken in your mouth. I followed the recipe just as written, except didn't use a quart of oil, I only used about a cup and half, and probably could have used a bit less. I added in the cornstarch slurry just until it reached the thickness I desired, but that was almost the whole amount. I was leery of the amount of sugar, but it was "perfect" for us. I served with Lo Mein Noodles from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was amazing. Tasted better than a restaurant and I'm a terrible cook. I didn't have chili paste so I used sriracha. I also had 2 extra large chicken breasts and doubled the entire recipe. Next time I will only double the batter and use 1/2 the sugar in the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
My family loved this. Here are some alterations I made: I didn't have chicken broth so I used water. I didn't have chile paste so I used crushed red pepper flakes (but I would use a little less next time because it was a bit spicy.) I also did not have sesame oil, but I did have walnut oil so I used that. I think you could use any oil really. I used 3/4 cup brown sugar, instead of the 1 cup of white. I figured white would make it too sweet. The breading was pretty much null and void so the 1st step is more for flavoring I think, but that was fine with me. Made me feel like I was eating healthier. haha! My son came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terra Appling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This is totally a 5 star recipe in the Rose household. I made it 2 times in one week. I tweaked a few things after reading the reviews, I only used 1/3 cup of sugar and that was PLENTY, I used apple cider vinegar because that was what I had & I used Texas Pete hot sauce instead of chili paste. I also let my chicken sit in the fridge in the batter for about 30-45 minutes. I also didn't have to use all of the cornstarch for thickening. The second time I made this I omitted the sesame seeds and used finely sliced scallions/fresh green onions, we used to go to a Chinese restaurant that had scallion chicken & this was really close to it. We reheat leftovers the next day & it was even better. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe :-) ......I'm gonna make it again this week, I can't believe how much this tastes like the restaurant...well probably even better!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Bowles Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Wonderful sauce!! Due to limited time, I cheated and only made the sauce and poured it over popcorn chicken. Kids couldn't get enough! After reading the other comments, I did reduce the sugar to a little over 1/2 cup, and it was perfect! I will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARYATID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States