Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
very good! we changed the recipe a little, used brown sugar and less cornstarch. we also skipped the wine
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2013
This turned out to be one of the best tasting chicken recipes I've ever made. It was a bit labor intensive, but so worth it once you put that first piece of sweet sesame chicken in your mouth. I followed the recipe just as written, except didn't use a quart of oil, I only used about a cup and half, and probably could have used a bit less. I added in the cornstarch slurry just until it reached the thickness I desired, but that was almost the whole amount. I was leery of the amount of sugar, but it was "perfect" for us. I served with Lo Mein Noodles from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This was amazing. Tasted better than a restaurant and I'm a terrible cook. I didn't have chili paste so I used sriracha. I also had 2 extra large chicken breasts and doubled the entire recipe. Next time I will only double the batter and use 1/2 the sugar in the sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
My family loved this. Here are some alterations I made: I didn't have chicken broth so I used water. I didn't have chile paste so I used crushed red pepper flakes (but I would use a little less next time because it was a bit spicy.) I also did not have sesame oil, but I did have walnut oil so I used that. I think you could use any oil really. I used 3/4 cup brown sugar, instead of the 1 cup of white. I figured white would make it too sweet. The breading was pretty much null and void so the 1st step is more for flavoring I think, but that was fine with me. Made me feel like I was eating healthier. haha! My son came back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
This is totally a 5 star recipe in the Rose household. I made it 2 times in one week. I tweaked a few things after reading the reviews, I only used 1/3 cup of sugar and that was PLENTY, I used apple cider vinegar because that was what I had & I used Texas Pete hot sauce instead of chili paste. I also let my chicken sit in the fridge in the batter for about 30-45 minutes. I also didn't have to use all of the cornstarch for thickening. The second time I made this I omitted the sesame seeds and used finely sliced scallions/fresh green onions, we used to go to a Chinese restaurant that had scallion chicken & this was really close to it. We reheat leftovers the next day & it was even better. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe :-) ......I'm gonna make it again this week, I can't believe how much this tastes like the restaurant...well probably even better!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Wonderful sauce!! Due to limited time, I cheated and only made the sauce and poured it over popcorn chicken. Kids couldn't get enough! After reading the other comments, I did reduce the sugar to a little over 1/2 cup, and it was perfect! I will definitely be making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARYATID

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
This recipe is quite yummy, even my picky eaters liked it! Here's what I did differently due to time: I bought precooked breaded chunk chicken that heats up in the oven. While that was in the oven I made the sauce according to directions. When the chicken came out of the oven I poured them into a serving bowl then sprinkled sesame seeds over them and tossed. Then I poured the sauce over them and served with lo-mein and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThompsonFamily

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Aly917
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This recipe was amazing! I cooked for a family of 8 and it was gobbled up! I have to say, I followed the video and lessened the amount of sugar, wasn't for me! Next time I make it, a full cup of sugar will be added :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
This was excellent! Followed recipe to the letter. I used the how to video because of the adjustments that were made by others and it is absolutely perfect. I plated a layer of rice, oriental stir fry veggies, chicken then poured a healthy portion of sauce overall. Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper920

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
tried the fried version and also tried baking it so it could be healthy both com out awesome Boss recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 468) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States