Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I just sauteed the chicken, rather than deep fried it. I used 1/4 cup of sugar, and it was fantastic! I couldn't believe how quickly it was eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Hubs & I thought the was good, not great. Our son however, absolutely loved it. I always try to make a recipe as written the first time, as I see that as the only fair way to rate something. That said, I did change the amount of sugar right off the bat - 1C just looked like way too much for the amount of liquid so I reduced it by half, figuring I could always add more if need be. Also, I made the slurry as written, but found that I didn't need to use it all. My sauce tightened up almost immediately with roughly 1/2 of the mixture. I followed all other sauce measurements, then tasted in order to assess flavor. Wow - was it sweet! If I ever made this again, I would cut the sugar even more, 1/3 or even 1/4C would probably be enough. I also found it a bit bland outside of the sweetness. Prior to serving, I added 2 tblsp rice vinegar & 2 additional tblsp soy which we felt perked it up nicely. The chicken itself was quite good - it fries up nicely with this batter, which is not too heavy. It came out tender and juicy with a light crisp. Overall, I'd make this again - with the changes mentioned it becomes more of a 4-star dish for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This is a great recipe if you are looking for a chinese food sesame chicken. Add less corn starch than the 1/4 cup then work your way up if you need more.. I did a couple tbsps of corn starch and that actually was enough. I doubled the sauce, the batter, and the chicken and it was perfect. Will be making it again. Had visitors over for dinner and it was all gone within 15 mins! should have made more! served it with broccoli and jasmine rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
This is the best sesame seed chicken I've ever had
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry McCrory
Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA
Living In: Altoona, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I've always loved sesame chicken at restaurants and this was even BETTER!! The chicken was moist and melted in your mouth. I disagree with other reviews, it is NOT too sweet. It's perfect! I did double the sauce and was so glad I did. It covered the chicken and broccoli. I want to make the chicken alone and use it in a salad with a toasted sesame dressing for a light fare this summer. The batter was delish!! I do think though next time I make this I will add red pepper flakes to put a little zing into it and make even more memorable!! Thank you Doreen P!! This recipe will be emblazoned on my kitchen wall as a standing delight and treat!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2014
I thought this was a really simple, straight-forward, good-tasting dish. I ended up making minor alterations (slightly more cornstarch and teaspoon of brown sugar for the sauce) but other than that, it was amazing. +5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Sauce was really sweet, but otherwise it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Two things that you want to do when you make this recipe in order to avoid rubbery chicken. First, trim the fat and skin off of the chicken breast. Even a thin layer of fat can be chewy or tough. Second, and this is probably most important, let the oil reset. Check the temperature to make sure that it is hot enough before you drop in your second or third batches in. If the oil is hot, it will cook the chicken thoroughly any quicker time cleaning that your chicken will stay juicy and not dry and rubbery. Finally, as a sidenote, I use one and a half to 2 inches of oil at the bottom of a 12 inch skillet. It tends to cook everything little bit more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
My family loved this! Any time I ask for dinner request this always comes up. It's a little complicated and time consuming, so only make it for special occasions. But taste better than some restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Sesame Pasta Chicken Salad

A pasta salad with chicken, sesame dressing, and fresh herbs.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States