Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2014
Ignored the chicken...used the sauce. Cut down on the corn starch as it came out very very thick. No need for all of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Followed the directions exactly. Yes, more sauce than necessary but easier to remove than add what you don't have. Will definitely make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I have prepared this twice. The first was a test run. I used mostly what I had on hand so I made a couple of minor changes. I used vegetable oil to fry, I used half white and half brown sugar, regular soy sauce, and not being able to find anything that was labled chili paste, I tried Thai red curry paste which has a few other ingredients added to the chili including lemongrass and ginger. Other than that, I followed the recipe. My family loved it! A couple of weeks later I made it again for a house full of teen girls. I tripled the recipe and the girls helped prepare. This time the chicken spent over an hour in the batter and it was even better. Every plate was cleaned. Served with some Jasmine rice and steamed broccoli, you can't go wrong with this one. After reading several reviews, I'm going to try making it next time with rice vinegar but this is my go-to recipe for sesame chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
This really is the best sesame chicken ever! I love sesame chicken and I eat it at restaurants all the time, and this one is way better. It is amazing! The chicken was tender and crispy and the sauce was delicious. I only added about half the sugar probably. So so good! My new favorite recipe for sure! Thanks for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Contia
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
No substitutes. Taste better than take out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Contia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: La Vergne, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
On the advice of other reviewers, I cut the sugar to 1/4c. of brown sugar and that was plenty. I also added a splash of Shaoxing wine and some rice vinegar. The flavor overall was good, however the chicken lost all of its crispiness once tossed with the sauce. Overall fairly tasty and a good point to start from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine Morrow
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
I used tofu and vegetable broth instead of chicken. Came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Morrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Delicious! I started my rice cooking at the same time as the chicken and dinner was ready in less than thirty minutes. Serve it with stir fried veggies and the restaurant style egg drop soup from this site and you'll never need take out again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I have to say, this "Perfect Sesame Chicken", was mouth watering. I love it. It was just the right flavor and seasoning. My family enjoyed it, and I didn't take away or add no other ingredients. I wouldn't change anything. I rate this recipe 5 stars *****. Thanks- Juanita Williams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronwood, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 479) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Lemon Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic chicken dish with a tart lemon-butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States