Perfect Sesame Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I made the sauce to go with plain chicken breasts, and YUM!! We will be making this in large batches to have on hand for all kinds of things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
great. this will be a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
OMG!!! This was the best Sesame Chicken I have ever had!! I was a little skeptical at first with the chicken batter. I was a little worried with the sauce as well. I tasted it after it thickened up and it was really spicy hot. But once I added the chicken and some veggies. It was PERFECT!!! My family loved it with some bell peppers, broccoli, and string beans we got at the Farmer's Market earlier that week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
For those of you who haven't viewed the attendent video you need to do so. It states that the sugar and vinegar should be altered to your favored taste profile, like "salt and pepper to taste". Like most asian quick fried recipes there are many other adjustments you can make-additions of veggies, etc. Use what you've got and see how it goes! The reviews have conflicting recommendations regarding cooking oil. Extra virgin Olive Oil (EVOO) is a FINISHING oil...used on salads and also in the last few minutes of cooking as it has a very low smoking point (375 degrees). Like sesame oil (350 degrees), it's there for the flavor. Olive Oil (not labeled EVOO) is a cooking oil that has a lighter color, less flavor and higher smoking point ('light olive oil' is around 450 degrees) and is roughly comparable to Canola oil in performance and dietetically-and Canola is lower in cost. And if you love this recipe and stir fry as much as I do, get a wok! You can flash fry this recipe in a fraction of the oil. This is where peanut oil (and other high smoking point oils) come into play as your pan will get to 400 degrees or higher. Start with a cup or so and as you do your batches add more if you need it. You'll have oil left in that quart bottle (rather than your arteries). Search 'carbon steel wok' at Amazon-319 choices! Drizzle the corn starch slurry in to your desired viscosity-it will thicken as it cools; you'll get almost 3 cups of sauce. Now go play with your food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EmmieYum
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2013
One food I miss from the States is Chinese sesame chicken. This was the first recipe I have ever tried and wow am I impressed. I followed the video on this and only used 3/4 cup of sugar. I didn't have sherry, so left that out. The sauce was gorgeous! It was that perfect sticky consistency like you'd get from a take away. I need to find an equally as good fried rice recipe and I'll be sorted. I served along side some prawn crackers and sweet chilli dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EmmieYum

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
could halve the recipe for the sauce and it would still be plenty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I made this for the 100+ students and they couldn't get enough. Made this recipe for 150 had to make some adjustments. Will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Loved this recipe!! My husband loved it, too, and he is very picky. I did make a few alterations. I followed the first review and halved the sugar. It turned out plenty sweet enough but I think next time I may even try using 1/4 cup sugar to make it a bit healthier. I think it would be just as good. I also chose not to deep fry it but rather baked it in the oven as the first review suggested and it turned out perfectly after 45 minutes at 375 degrees. I may try stir frying it in a wok next time to achieve some degree of crispiness. I didn't have corn starch on hand so I omitted it from the first step and used four mixed with water for the second step and it turned out just fine. I also used organic boneless skinless chicken thighs cubed in place of breast meat. All in all, a really scrumptious dinner served over white rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
I've been looking for a sesame chicken recipe for awhile now and I finally found it! After reading some of the reviews I cut the sugar to 1/2 a cup instead of a full cup. When I make this again I will add more sugar but not the full cup. I'd say that kind of depends on personal preference more than anything! The sauce came out a little thicker than I would like. I would recommend less cornstarch and water I think maybe 1/2 of what it says would be better. Also, instead of deep frying the chicken I pan fried it instead and it still turned out great. Will for sure be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Very good! Lots of work so would next time prepare chicken much earlier and let marinade. Also used canola oil better because it's better suited for high temp. This was as good if not better than anything we've had from a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Sesame Chicken

See how to make classic Chinese take-out at home.

Asian Orange Chicken

Watch how to make simple, takeout-style crispy orange chicken.

Spicy Kung Wow Chicken

See how to make a simple stir-fry based on spicy kung pao chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States